Weekly update #1 | 1807 - 2407

in #blog2 years ago (edited)

In my last post I wrote about the idea that I have of writing weekly updates. I'm not quite sure about what I want it to look like yet, but I'm just going to write along and see where it will take me (and you:)). Something I did figure out is that I'm going to post these updates on Monday. That way you can start your week with a fresh cup of coffee or tea, reading about my adventures of the week before. I'm already excited and I hope you enjoy it as well!


Monday

Last Monday I went to see my mom and little brother. Since the temperatures are rising here in the Netherlands (and if I have to believe the news, almost everywhere...), my mom decided to make a delicious Turkish dish called Kisir. Maybe you're familiar with it, but it's a dish made of bulgur, fresh veggies (e.g. tomato, parsley and lettuce), scrambled egg, and sambal. It's perfect for hot summer days since it's served chilled. After dinner, my brother and I decided to take a swim in a pond nearby their house. We always used to go there during summer when we were young. It has been years now since I last visited that spot, so it was both nice and weird to be back there.


Tuesday

It was forecasted that the temperature would go up to 40 degrees on Tuesday. So Ruben and I both agreed on leaving our ivory tower. We were pretty sure that the ponds nearby would be packed with people (especially screaming children, lol) so we decided to have a little trip to Germany. Our residence is close to the German border so we only had to drive half an hour to get there. It was perfect and we were both glad we left the house for a while.


*Little disclaimer: this wast not last week, but I thought the sky looked pretty cool

Later that afternoon I had a call with the psychiatrist of the clinic where I will get treatment for my eating disorder. I was hoping that he would have a start date for me, but at the time, he hadn't. He promised to keep me updated, but it was kind of disappointing that I still had no clue when I would go into treatment. Luckily he kept his promise and two days later I received an email that I'm allowed to start on the 2nd of August. While it's a relief that Ruben and I no longer have to handle this demon ourselves, it also triggers my anxiety. Things are actually going to change now. And even though I know it's for the better, it still feels pretty scary.


Wednesday

I was not feeling too well on Wednesday. Usually, I like summer and higher temperatures. But it currently feels like my body can't handle the heat very well. I was just laying on the couch scrolling through my phone when Ruben came up with the idea to go see his parents. They have a jacuzzi in the back of their garden so we decided to make use of that. We ate dinner together with his mom and stepdad, chatted about things that are going on in the world right now, and we went home not much later.


Thursday

Thursday was an ordinary day on which I did some housewive tasks like washing laundry, grocery shopping, and sending out packages. There is an app here in the Benelux called Vinted on which you can sell your clothing, shoes and accessories. It's like an online secondhand store for fashion and beauty-related stuff. I mainly use the app to sell clothes and shoes that no longer suit me. I always make sure that what I'm selling is still in good condition. That way I don't have to throw stuff away (I'm a recycle nerd), people can buy something nice for cheap and I'm able to earn a little bit of money. These were the shoes that I sold last week and had to put in the mail. I believe I only wore them once a few years ago. The buyer got them for 17 euros, so I think that's a pretty good deal, haha.

Friday

I'm slowly finding my way back to baking again. Close before my hospitalization (and shortly after) I was baking regularly, but as I got more sick I didn't dare to eat the baked goods myself anymore. While I never lost interest in the process, I can confidently say that it's way less fun if you can't allow yourself to taste your creations.

The week before last week I came across a recipe for Blueberry Streusel Muffins. The photos in the recipe looked great, so I decided to make them. Usually, I'm a chocolate and caramel kind of girl, but these fruity little things tasted amazing. Ruben and I couldn't get enough of them so I decided to bake some again.

I'm going to dedicate a single post to them, including the recipe, because they are too delicious and you should really try them yourself.


Saturday

Usually, it's too busy in the city center of Enschede on Saturdays, so I never really go there if I don't have to. I did want to get out of the house though, so I made a little trip to a secondhand store that is around the corner. Now and then I like to have a stroll around there to see if they have some kind of gems waiting for me to purchase.

Most of the time I directly head to the kitchenware department. Just like I did last Saturday when I found these cute little saucers. They were only 75 cents per saucer and I love blue patterns like these (sorry @rubencress :p). I think they will be very nice for serving muffins or cupcakes. Imagine one of those blueberry muffins on one of them, so cute!


Sunday

Ruben his stepdad celebrated his birthday on Sunday, so we, and others, were invited for a bbq in the afternoon. I was looking forward to seeing his family again, but in the back of my head, I knew that it could still be too much for me. Nonetheless, I got ready, put on some makeup and a cute dress that I got from my mother-in-law last year and we drove to his parent's house.

Even though I tried to take it easy and have fun, after two hours I got overwhelmed anyway. All those people, the small talk, and the food were just still too much. Ruben tried his best to reassure me that it was okay, but I decided to go home and have some rest.

Even though it feels like I've failed yesterday, I am proud that I've tried and said hi to everyone. Better next time, right?;)



I hope you enjoyed reading. See you next week!

Lots of love,
Dymph

Sort:  

You had quite the busy week. I can understand why you felt overwhelmed on Sunday. It's important to be gentle with yourself when you are healing. Do take care and always listen to your inner self xxxx

While reading over my blogpost again, I totally agree with you... I find it very hard to 'not do anything', because my mind is so busy. Thank your for pointing it out❤️ It makes me realise that I have to be more aware again of where I put my energy into.

More muffins pls. Pls woman. More muffins.

😂 I think we slowly start to turn into muffins ourselves...

Endgame goals ;)

Nou das gewoon een volle gas drukke week zeg haha, ik snap wel dat je overwhelmed daarvan raakt!

Maarre...houden zo die week reports. Goed voor jou om te schrijven, relaxt voor ons om te lezen!

Haha, achteraf gezien denk ik ook dat het allemaal een beetje veel was... Ik hoop dit zelf wat eerder door te krijgen in de toekomst.

Leuk om te horen! Ik ga mijn best doen om volgende week weer wat 'op papier' te zetten ;)

Dymph ik las dat je mogelijk mee gat naar hivefest, ik hoop dat het lukt ! Tof dat Ruben ook een ticket heeft gewonnen.
Fijne Vrijdag

Hey @brittandjosie! Ik ga niet mee naar HiveFest, maar ik kom op zondag wel eventjes naar Amsterdam:) Wie weet zien we elkaar!