When Disaster Strikes!

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

disaster-genref803d.jpg

A Good Idea gone 'Off-Track' for poor typing skills, dyslexia and an opportunity to post.

trainwreck77cc8.jpg

It all started this past Friday as I left the house, intent on "Get Things Done". As many, as few, may know one of the things I do each Friday is go to the local 'Bankster' to exchange my "Loose Change" for a deposit slip. I then proceed to transfer said metals in to a Coinbase account, where I in-turn transfer them to the Steemit Account @loosechange. A project I started back in December 2016. Good Fun! Well, I guess I had my mind set on the 'Hair-cut' I wanted to get (@papa-pepper Joke on the Super Bowl - See Haircut by @hexdek16 in comments) ... I left the house, without the "BOX". Pictured here, which sits between two computers

IMG_37528151f.jpg

So, I thought ... well, I can still post because I had this super-awesome Idea that I wanted to activate and write about! Some of you who follow know how I began mining BurstCoin on some refurbished laptops I had fixed through the barter/trade of a 'killer' switchblade (sounds gruesome) which I found in an old Buick we detailed at the shop. [Read Previous Posts] We have a 'finder's keepers, loser's weepers' rule which states, "Anything under $50 in Value on traded-in vehicles is theirs to keep, over $50 value items must be turned in to management for the courtesy of the owner in a 30 Day Hold Policy". If not recovered by previous owner, the item reverts to the finder.

Well I thought, in keeping with the spirit of the project I would transfer the acquired Loose Change funds to a Poloniex Account to trade BurstCoin with a buy option @ .00000068 to sell at a later date @ .00000082 - then trade back to Steem and transfer it back in to the account @loosechange. (Project Funding Success I Thought!) NOT Apparently in my haste, joy & kidish glee I transposed 2 letters. UGGH! So instead of sending funds to "Poloniex" I sent 415.647 STEEM to @poloneix ..... see the ie vs. ei difference?

Screenshot23a724f.png

Apparently I an not the first person to make such an error, and it looks as if the account owner was a 'kind soul' and returned the funds to the previous person who made the same mistake. So if you happen to know the owner or are the owner - Please Help!

donate-disaster-10-orig308e1.jpg

As I have stated in the comment sections of previous posts - this is not a project I started for my personal financial benefit but as a social & potential humanitarian outreach (in the future). I started it as a 'Fun Idea' to see how little actions could grow in to making a bigger impact through consistency & perseverance. Perhaps this is perseverance ... through the life lesson of "Trial & Error". I am no computer genius so it's taken me over 3 months just to learn about Steemit, Steem, crypto-currencies, Coinbase, BTC and Poloniex. In the process, I've learned more about markdown language and signed up for an on-line course on programing code. (Which should be interesting)

Every 'coin' that funded this account was found under car seats, extracted from vacuums on a weekly basis and 'picked-up' off the ground that people walked past, to get somewhere else. Again, if you know the owner or are the owner of @poloneix A BIG THANK YOU for fixing my error! The monies here may one day be able to help someone in a meaningful significant way!! ~Peace.

Sort:  

I am sorry you lost your funds. I have made some money here on steemit. I will send you 10 steem and hope you help others.

Thanks @countzero I'm not soliciting funds though I appreciate the contribution. (looks like you don't have a lot to give) So I appreciate it even more!! I created @loosechange to demonstrate a social project. This is just a 'Bump in the Road' - That is all. ~Peace

You should be more careful in the future.

We will crash Burstcoin Now!

::Good Job:: (lol) .....do it again, and maybe it will go even higher %^)

I got you fam. I had made a similar mistake on my primary which is why I created the account in the first place -- to make sure all of the monies make it back to where they belong.

BIG THANKS! %^)

Congratulations @loosechange! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.91 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 05 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.