Motivation Can be Found In The Coolest Places!

in #blog7 years ago

My journey to Steemit has been interesting. I was freshly unemployed, very sad, unmotivated, lost, lonely, and angry. What is a girl to do? It was time for me to start the next leg of my journey and I did not know where to start. I have always had a final goal, but the path I would take to get there was still a little obscured. I decided it was time to join the 21 Century and learn some of this Technology that was quickly leaving me behind.

Over the previous several years, stemming from the 2008 financial crisis, I had become a part of a digital community of people that were collectively standing up and screaming NO MORE! For me, It started with learning the difference between fiat and real money. I was so pissed off to learn how badly we had been Conned. So, determined to be independent of the corrupt system around me, I started to buy Silver. You know how it goes. Silver started at $5 oz, then skyrockets to $50, immediately, it falls back to $35. I tell myself, "Self you need to get in on this before it goes crazy again and leaves you behind." So, guess what I did? Yup, I bought silver! I thought I was so smart. Nobody else I knew thought taking all of my hard earned savings and spending it all on Silver was a good idea. I would show them! Well, do I have to tell you what happened next?

I watch Sliver fall, down, down, down, resting at about $17. Me, determined to be right, put any more money that I could earn into more Silver. They call it dollar cost average. Now I have lots and lots of Silver. Of course, as we all know, it is ten years later and my Silver is still worth less than my dollar cost average. Don't get me wrong, I still believe Silver will have its day, I just don't know if it will be within my lifetime!

I tried several different new vocations. I took several different courses from learning to be a Travel Writer to being a Youtuber, to having my own Website and stuffing it full of Affiliate Advertising. In other words, I spent even more money, and I am still no closer to knowing what I really want to do when I grow up. I just know I don't want to return to the grind!

My new projects, Cryptocurrency and Steemit! Of course, by the time I learned about how to trade Cryptos, Bitcoin had long since grown out of my price range, but the new up and comer Ether was still reachable. I had better get in quick right? Yup, I bought in at $386! Guess what happened next? Come on, I bet you will never guess!

I have never felt so low! I can't get anything right. For days, every spare minute I have I check on the prices just to see if maybe they had turned around......nope.

The shining light, the only light in my dark tunnel; Steemit. My number of followers keeps getting bigger. I just had my first Whale, well maybe not a Whale, more like a Sturgeon upvote a couple of my posts. Steemits hardfork 19 may help me out a little bit. It is certainly no answer, but it is motivational, and at this point, I can use all the motivation I can find.

I wish I could tell you something amazing has happened to solve all my problems, but alas, no, I must keep on moving forward. I must try to make what I have started work for me. I will keep going. I will find a place for me. If for no other reason then because I insist.

I know there are so many other people out there just like me. I read their stories every day, right here on my new Social Platform. I love Steemit and am thankful for the motivation I find within it.