A Tribute Post to Chester Bennington

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


I can't believe a year has already passed since Chester Bennington passed away, I've been a Linkin Park fan for as long as i can remember and his passing really hurt the community... The band is still picking up the pieces from the pain of losing the voice, heart and soul of the group. Depression is real and even thought he always talked about it publicly and he had good times and bad times, the demons eventually won over him and he took the decision to end his life. The reaction to a suicide varies from person to person, some feel sad from the start and start grieving but others get mad, i have to admit at the beginning i couldn't believe it, i was part of the later group, i felt mad, how could he have done this to all of us? his family? his children? his fans? He had so much support from his family and his fans, we all knew he had demons eating him away from the inside but we accepted it, the pain he felt made his music beautiful and different, you could feel that every scream in every song came from the deepest parts of his soul, this weren't just lyrics, he was speaking to you through his music, it was his way of expressing to us how he felt... but the demons won the battle and he took his life anyways... after a few weeks you start accepting reality and getting sad.


As a personal confession here, I used to make fun of people that grieved when popular people died or committed suicide, how can you feel sad? you never knew that person anyways, that's what i used to say to the people that grieved actors and singers... but life has a way of biting you back and of course now i understand them, I've been listening to Linkin Park for more than 15 years, his voice and his music has been with me for more that 60% of my life... I understand now that you can feel sadness when someone you don't know dies and there's an emptiness left behind inside you because you know you will never listen to his voice again, a new song, a new album to accompany you through dark times, its all gone.


As a fan, i decided that i would create this little corner here to remember him and talk about my favorite songs from his career with the band.

 

Hybrid Theory



I got into Linkin Park around the end(huh) of 2001 or the beginning of 2002, my memory is a bit fuzzy there and of course Hybrid Theory was my intro to the album, by some people this is the gold standard of Linkin Park, the best of the best and everything else from here went down hill! but i'm not one of those, I love Hybrid Theory and i love all their other albums too, A Thousand Suns was weird at the beginning but they where clearly ahead of their time and the album eventually grows on you, but to get back on track! It was pretty hard to pick a favorite song in this album, but i had to go for Pushing me Away!

 


Meteora


 


When i got my hands into this album, it blew my mind! It was like a part 2 to Hybrid Theory! It was amazing and i listened to it over and over again for months. I'll have to go hands down for Figure.09 being my favorite song but Breaking the Habit comes in easily as a really close second.


 

Minutes to Midnight


 


This album came out after having to wait 4 long years! It was different, not a lot of people liked it at the beginning, but as I said I'm a die hard fan and loved it from day 1 and my favorite song from this one, is without question, Leave Out All the Rest!


 

A Thousand Suns


 


A Thousand Suns, the album almost everyone hated when it got released, people where frustrated and called them names for years, from sellouts to trash, but people had forgotten that what made Linkin Park popular at the beginning was their experimental music and now they where starting to experiment again with other genres and some people didn't like it... I didn't hate this album but out of the 7 albums i would probably place this one on the seventh spot lol... My favorite song from this album is When They Come For Me.


 

Living Things


 


I particularly don't remember if there was drama or not when they released this album at this time in my life in 2012 i was too busy to be able to pay attention to the community of fans anymore and i just got the album and enjoyed it without much of an external opinion really... My favorite song from this album is Roads Untraveled.


 

The Hunting Party


 


I do remember the release of this album! It was wild! Everyone loved it and called the second coming! The return of Linkin Park to its true roots and i have to agree it was really really good, everyone all over the place was praising the album and it felt like I was younger again when everyone had a positive view of the band lol. My favorite song from this album is Until It's Gone.


 

One More Light


 


The last album of the Bennington era... when you look in hindsight, its obvious from the lyrics of most of the songs in the album where a call for help and how close he was to ending it all... I really enjoyed this album and can't possibly pick a favorite song from this one, instead i'm going to leave you wit ha video of what is possibly the best live performance ever offered in the history of mankind only second to that glorious day where Freddie Mercury stood in front of more than 1 million people back in 85' on Wembley Stadium.


I will probably never stop listening to Linkin Park songs, they have been a part of my life for so long and I doubt our relationship is over yet not even with the passing of Chester. I will end this post with a message sent today by the band.

To our brother Chester,

It has been a year since your passing-a surreal rotation of grief, heartbreak, refusal and recognition. And yet it still feels like you are close by, surrounding us with your memory and your light. Your one-of-a-kind spirit has authored an indelible imprint on our hearts--our jokes, our joy and our tenderness.

Eternally grateful for the love, life and creative passion you shared with us and the world. We miss you more than words can express.


The picture at the beginning of the post was taken from the Linkin Park Official Facebook page


Posted from my blog with SteemPress :The Frog Nation


Sort:  

Hi lunaticpandora,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks! I appreciate it!

felicitaciones!! pero que cosa mas fantastica.

Gracias! ñññññññññññññññ

Love it! Well done!

blog steemit banner.png

I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Wow a year hey. Didnt feel like it

Yeah time really went by fast....