The Hard Fork: A Forking Update Pt. 3

in #blog6 years ago





At this point in the game, immediate gratification and cryptocurrencies go hand in hand. We are drawn to that immediate payoff. Some of us are able to steady the ship after boarding a token to the moon. Seeing your crypto go 10x in a matter of days can be intoxicating and that feeling has drawn many people in. Unfortunately, those same temptations take others over the edge. Schemes similar to Bitconnect promise quick returns with no effort required. It is too good to be true but the allure of guaranteed returns can be blinding.

On a personal level, I am soaking up an incredible amount of information on a daily basis. I have learned more valuable information in the last six months than I had in the last six years. Still, part of me is itching to see tangible results from that time I have put in. It is tough to keep on keepin’ on without immediate signs of meaningful progress...or at least that is how my brain is trained to act.

An argument can be made that the inability to complete a project can often trace back to a lack of instant gratification. If you don’t see results right away, distractions can swoop in to steal your focus. Each day is filled with an insane amount of distractions. Whether it is living or digital, we are surrounded by a world looking to grab our attention.

Harnessing the ability to focus. It may be the most difficult obstacle in the way of achieving success. How can I block out the noise and power through the times when the outside motivational factors are low? In the past, I would wake up and spend an excessive amount of time contemplating what needed to get done. Before I knew it, 30 minutes had passed and I still hadn’t taken any action. I was lost in my own thoughts, trying to decide what needed to be done while easily surrendering to distractions. Lately, the “to-do list” has gotten long and it can be overwhelming. My approach had to change.

Writing things down. Another positive habit I am trying to form. I can’t stress how simple, yet valuable it is. Making a visible list allows items to escape my head and become tangible. The list can be put in to perspective. Prioritizing becomes much easier. Crossing an item off of the list serves as a little boost. Some self generated instant gratification that helps push you on to the next item.

Checking a few items off of the list, first thing in the morning, is an excellent way to get the gears turning.Those small items set the tone for my day and put me in the blockchain frame of mind. I also find it helpful to eliminate “chore” related activities before I try to be truly productive. **From there, I jump right in to the item that I deem most important, for that day. **

My list typically looks something like…

  • Catch up on Crypto-News over my morning coffee
    • Typically involved checking CoinMarketCap.com to see how coins are performing vs. Bitcoin
    • If a token I don’t recognize is having a big 24hrs, I will research them (read the White Paper)
    • Check those that I deem “reliable” on Twitter for updates.
    • Browse through various crypto content for interesting articles.
  • Make necessary portfolio adjustments based on news/research
    • Adjust stops/buy orders.
  • Educational/Motivational Podcast while doing dishes, laundry, kitty litter, etc.
    • Tim Ferris has become my main source for podcast listening. I can really relate to the way he thinks and the interviews and questions asked on the show are pretty mind expanding.
    • There’s still time for Coin Mastery, Unchained, The Bad Crypto Podcast, Crypto 101, ICO Alert, and all of the other great crypto podcasts.

It’s been said by many but easy boxes to check really help get you moving. These first three items also provide a solid structure for how my day will go. I know that there won’t be any minor tasks that steal my focus. My finances are in order. Chores are done. From there, I can really dive in to the things I want to accomplish - the things that will add value to my day.

  • Complete and comprehend coding lessons
  • Write material for The Hard Fork
  • Write/take notes for my “novel”
  • Further develop crypto-concept

I typically find that during my early morning process, I can identify how my mind is working. When I am reading a White Paper, what type of information is grabbing my attention? Is it the conceptual theory? The technicals? If I can pinpoint a strong distinction,** I will decide where I put the majority of my focus for the day.** Not all days are that easy but when in doubt, I default to developing the skill that will be most valuable: learning coding languages.

Starting from scratch, I’ve accepted that this skill will not come quickly. Patience and persistence will be crucial if I actually wish to follow through. Short term, visually identifying this as my top priority has kept my focus in line. Seeing it on paper, every day, allows my mind to **focus on starting the task...rather than on what task I need to start. **

I find it much easier to crank up my creative side than the more technical side. Today is a good example. After looking at charts of Bitcoin’s performance vs. Altcoins over the last year or so, I knew my mind was ready to jump right in to Codecademy. Four hours later, I was pretty mentally drained. Turning off my brain, just for a short period of time, was the cure.

If I hit a roadblock along the way (like struggling to solve a coding error or progressing my writing), I will step away and put on some music. Typically lyricless, mellow but upbeat, and psychedelically instrumental in nature, I just relax until I am ready to get back in the game. Anywhere from one song to a handful, whatever it takes to refocus. The music tends to free my mind up to roam and sparks the creative thoughts that lead to whatever I may end up writing. At this point, inspiration takes over. If I am drawn towards trying to further develop my crazy blockchain concept, I go with it. If Steemit and The Hard Fork are calling my name, I answer. If I feel my brain starting to wonder way outside the box, I’ll pull up the novel and get really creative.

Things will pop up. Unexpected distractions will try and steal your focus. When that happens,add it to the list. If it is something that can be categorized as a “chore”, knock it out immediately. Don’t give it the opportunity to linger in the back of your mind, distracting you from being productive on a high level. Regardless, you’ll be able to put this new item in perspective...and then you act.


As always, thank you so much for taking the time to read. Give me some feedback by commenting below. You took the time to read, now let me know what you thought!

RESTEEM - UPVOTE - COMMENT

Don't forget to check out the rest of The Hard Fork's blog entries that cover:

  • My Forking Education:
    • Showcasing the things I’ve learned that are inspiring me to stay on my path
    • Quick Breakdowns/Easy Reads
    • Written so those with no prior knowledge of a given topic can comprehend and learn
  • Forking Updates:
    • Describing the roadblocks, obstacles, and breakthroughs I’ve encountered
  • Forking Inspirations:
    • Profiling examples of others that provide great learning experiences
    • Other Steemians
    • Celebrities
    • Obscure entities, great examples

Follow The Hard Fork on Twitter - Still in the early stages of adjusting to social media but you can help me build the foundation!