Lessons from an entrepreneur-a-holic 💲 💸 💰

in #blog7 years ago

mockup-cdeddf24_1024x1024@2x.png

Hello there.

My name is Mariana and I'm a former entrepreneur-a-holic. I was addicted to "making it."

I tried for years to create successful businesses. Some made money, some didn't.

I've inspired so many others to go out there and crush it while feeling like I couldn't get there myself.

I tried it all. Ebay business, Amazon business, ecommerce stores, healing business, coaching business, photography business, graphic design business. I've listened to 5000+ hours of podcasts and audio books (yeah yeah, all the good ones). I read stories of those who "made it". I've screamed, "I CAN DO IT TOO!!!" (and I had the burning desire to change the world too.)

In fact, I was so consumed by making it that my husband was aghast at my fun-less life. Once when we were driving across the country on a move from San Francisco to Ohio, he took my phone out and opened Audible at my insistence.

"I have some good books in there" I said matter of factly. "Put something good on, you'll have no trouble finding something."

"Oh my god...." he exclaimed as he scrolled endlessly through my list.

"What? Did you find Think and Grow Rich? That's a good one right?" I was smug at the thought of my most excellent literary choices.

"You have the most boring book list I have ever seen!"

"What?!!?! Could you be referring to my most excellent book list?"

"Finance, finance, finance, how to make it, how to make money, how to get rich, self help for the helpless, having your own back, making it, emotional overwhelm...." and the list went on.

'Oh my god' I thought.

"Welll...." I trailed off.

I didn't know what to say. The truth was, that shit was boring and I knew it. It occurred to me that perhaps I had been so focused on striving and making it, that I honestly didn't know what fun was anymore. Did I ever?

I had no idea where to start.

I had made my life serious.

My life was tedious, tired and monochromatic.

Fudge.

But but but......oh fudge! What had my life become?

And what about this thing called fun?

Can I make money by having fun?

I mean, fun is all good and all, but like, let's get real. It doesn't pay the bills right? Right??

And so the journey to having more FUN began...

And P.S. If you want to grab the PAY DAY poster I designed, you can! Right here.

xoxo,

Mariana


I run a fun website called Coffee Break. It's an inspiring community inviting entrepreneurs to have more fun on their journey! I also design fun goodies like posters and leggings to rock your day. Check it out!