My books!

in #blog5 years ago

20190420_174902~2.jpg

I love to read. I read stories, about strong characters, murder mysteries, love stories, murder mysteries with a love story, nothing of substance, so to speak.

Our mom was an avid reader and encouraged my sister and I to read. Which we did. We do. By age 14 or so we were reading off her bookshelf. These three books are the ones that truly hooked me on reading. They were kind of racy for our age but mom must have known that would make us want to read. Never know!

Anyway, I didn't get mom's copies and was disappointed. I have been intending to buy my own. Never came across the titles at flea markets, garage sales, thrift stores. I was home off work one day with a virus. Guess I felt sorry for myself and decided to buy my books. Ordered them from Thriftbooks.com. Had them in 4 days.

20190420_174939~2.jpg

I am so pleased. Didn't know which one to read first. Decided on Calico Palace. It is about San Francisco when the gold rush started. The people who benefited, sacrificed, lost and won. I seriously do not recsll much detail other than it is a good story. And I want to read it again.

20190420_174931~2.jpg

Give Us This Valley. A story of two young settlers, married and off by covered wagon from Pennsylvania to Georgia. A love story with adventure, wonderful settings and truely strong characters. And I want to read it again.

20190420_174917~2.jpg

Foever Amber. A bad girl story from London in the mid 1600's. And how she perfected her womanly charms to 'rule' her world. She even manages to become the mistress of a king. I said a little racy. lol. I know I enjoyed it and, yes, want to read it again.

Maybe you would like to read more about each one. Pick one to read! I hope at least one person reads one of these!

Sort:  

You got a free upvote from @reversed-bidbot! Follow me to earn steem by interacting with my promoted posts.