Turning the Page

in #blog6 years ago

Hello, Steem people!

It has been quite a while since I was here. Unfortunately, real life gets in the way sometimes. I have been quite miserable at work, feeling overworked and underpaid, and so in December, I asked my boss for a raise. I didn’t ask for anything extravagant or over the top; I merely asked to be paid market rate. Quite uncharitably, they gave me a total of an extra $2K a year.

That put about an extra $50 in my paycheck every two weeks. Needless to say, I was feeling very unsatisfied.

As luck would have it, a competitor law firm poached me and gave me an offer I could not refuse. I went back and told my current company, they countered, and I told them to take their counteroffer and shove it up to where the sun don’t shine.

Okay, I did not say that, but I told them that if they valued me so much, they should have just given me the money when I asked for it in December. I guess like in all other relationships, whether with a lover, a parent, a child, a friend, or even an employee, you never really learn to appreciate someone until you are about to lose them.

In any event, Friday is my last day, and Monday, I start another chapter of my life.

Here’s to turning the page in the story of our lives.

547564E6-F638-49AC-8285-7F1BED319418.jpeg

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 12:39:29
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 16.15/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Good luck my dear Nova!!! I am sure you will be more appreciated here!
Happy woman's day today as well ☺😚😚!!!

Congratulations @novanyc! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @novanyc! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!