One of my most heartbreaking moments with a refugee child in Iraq

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

P1060060.JPG
Raman, if you look at him you would never expect such a child to draw so much horror on one paper. When I saw his drawings I was in shock and did not know what to say or how to react especially because he was standing right in front of me looking at me with his big brown eyes.

P1060097.JPG

His drawings show what he has seen and what he is scared of. When the doctors spoke with his mother I went to sit with him. I decided just to do what my heart told me to. Just start by simply talking about what he exactly drew on that paper and his life in Syria. He explained that the second drawing shows that he is scared that ISIS will come to the refugee camp and will kill him and his family and the other drawings what he has seen and still is seeing on the news. ISIS and Peshmarga’s fighting, bodies everywhere and chaos. When he spoke I saw not only his face changing but his mood as well. Now I could see and feel his fear. I just could not imagine what he has been through before coming to this camp and if it was not all bad enough he ended up in a camp where he was not even sure whether he would be safe or not. How can you feel safe in a cold tent, without a proper door leave alone a lock.
P1060098.JPG

After a few minutes of talking there was just one thing in my mind and that was these children need to feel safe again. I knew that they would never forget what they went through however they should know that life is not all about killings and war. They should remember again that they are children. I am not a psychiatrist nor a pedagogue, I am a human being who wants to help those children. I have been a child, I have little sisters and cousins. I know how a child acts and thinks about when they have not seen war or did not grow up in a conflict zone. They draw a house with their happy family, they do not draw fire guns and death bodies. Thus I had one thing in my mind which was to get Raman his beautiful mind back, without the guns and war.

I gave Raman a pink rose and asked him whether he could draw that rose on a paper. The first thing he did was taking a black pencil, which is a color no child should use for making a beautiful rose. Instead I gave him a pink one and explained that the earth is full of beautiful colors which we can use to draw something beautiful. While he was busy drawing the rose, I drew some light blue clouds, after that he made the whole drawing by himself. He started using a lot of different colors, and was explaining that he was drawing an apple tree, a river, a house, the Kurdish flag and that love and 7ob was written in the flag.

P1060133.JPG

This kid is so beautiful, every child is beautiful, they are powerless, they are fragile and they are harmless. I learned that children must be taught how to think, not what to think. These kids have seen so much horror, the only thing they can think about is their fear of seeing all the horror all over again. When he told his story I almost cried, but I did not because I did not come here to feel sorry for these people, I came to make a change even if it is a little. This kid went from a horror drawing to a drawing that is worth millions. He was smiling after he saw his drawing and gave me a high five. I cannot put into words how happy I felt that day.

P1060150.JPG

After a few days I saw Raman and his little brother again. They came to me both with a big smile on their faces and showed me a few drawings they made very proudly. This is what a child should think about and should be drawing. I only asked him to draw me something beautiful and instead he drew me so much more. No ISIS drawings for Raman anymore.

Thanks for reading my blog and do not hesitate to leave a comment below! I have more blogs planned for you guys about my whole experience with refugees, torture victims and many other items in Iraq since the rise of ISIL.

Sort:  

This is amazing, you definitely made a big change in these children's lives just by helping them be More optimistic. I upvoted and followed, looking forwatd to hear more about your experience there. The world needs to be more aware about this :/

Thank you for your sweet words. i am also really happy that i am a part of helping people in need. Steemit is a new platform for me and i am now in a learning process but its not rocket science, so i will post more of my experiences asap! i followed you back and thank you again for your support.

Yes! My sister was helping refugees in Germany last summer and some of her stories were so heartbreaking. But there are always bittersweet ones like this one. Good luck!

So true, I just wish that more people would we aware of their situation and accept them in their countries. There should be more people like your sister and all those around the world who find time to help the people in need.

Welcome to Steem @omertality I have sent you a tip

Thank you very much, I really appreciate it!

More people like u can make the world changes to better place.

It is one thing watching the tragedies of war on the big screen told by people with an agenda, and another completely when seen thru the eyes of in innocent, who's only worry at this stage of life should be where to frolic today.

I have tears. Such a heartbreaking account. I am happy you are able to bring a bit of sunshine and roses to this little man and his friends. No amount of money can compare :)

I am very happy that I could make a change in his life and that is the reason why I am doing it. Thank you for your sweet words darling, Please resteem and follow for more blogs from me everyday.

Followed :)

Are you currently there?

Thank you, no unfortunately not, I came back to do a masters degree in human rights.

That is awesome. I am sure you will be back the moment you can, with even more tools to help :) I wish you much luck, and look forward this journey with you :)

Thank you so much I hope so. I will keep you all up to date.

Welcome to Steemit @omertality :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started: