Chapter Eight: The Proposal

in #blog6 years ago

Days of Parker-chapter 8.png
A Few Thoughts Before We Begin:

This next part of our journey is something I never thought I would be able to experience. I proposed to the one person who makes me happy no matter what. Before I go into the details of this proposal, I want to tell you a thought I lived with for a long time. This is something I have not shared with many people but it makes this point in my life a little bit more special.

Growing up I kind of surrendered to being single for my entire life. I did not see me living much pass my early twenties. I became content with this destiny I formulated in my head and I didn’t think it would be fair to involve another person in this mess. I hate making people feel sad so I did not want someone to get attached to me and then have SMA take me away. The older I became the more I wanted to destroy this formulated destiny. I wanted to beat SMA and I wanted a partner to experience life with.

With that being said, I have never really given much thought to how I wanted to propose. Well, I guess most dudes don’t give much thought to this until the opportunity is presented to them. When I knew Virginie was the one that I wanted to keep forever, I started to devise my master proposal plan. In this chapter, I will take you through my entire thought process and the events that took place. Get ready because you are about to witness my romantic side that only Virginie has seen.

The Decision:

A few months before Virginie was to come visit, we both discussed what was the next step after she visited. As you can imagine, flying from France to the US is not a cheap ticket because of this we made an agreement. The agreement was that if we were madly in love by the third week and she enjoyed Phoenix, I would propose. If she did not like being away from France `and/or me, we would go our separate ways. Luckily, we ended up falling even harder for each other and Virginie absolutely loved all the sun Phoenix had to offer.

I knew she was the one after our trip to the mall. I remember whispering to my mother while she was helping me out of our van “ I am going to propose this weekend. She is the one I want and I can’t wait another week and a half to tell her.” I said that to my mother on a Tuesday, the second Tuesday Virginie was here. After some thought, I decided that on Saturday I was going to pop the question. Virginie had no idea I was going to pop the question a week early but I had a feeling she felt the same way about me.

Leading up to that Saturday, I kept asking Virginie questions about Phoenix and myself. I wanted to make sure that I was making the right decision and not making her feel rushed. My fear is that she would have said “yes” in the heat of the moment or because she wanted to be polite. If I had felt any hesitation in her answers, I would have postponed my decision. During that week of questioning, I realized that we both wanted the same thing and I was making the correct decision to ask her to marry me.

The Plan:

The months prior to Virginie coming to visit, I started to think of special places that I could propose to her. I honestly did not have many in mind but there was one place that kept recurring to me. The “LOVE” sign in Old Town Scottsdale, this is a place I have always enjoyed and it is iconic to the surrounding area. Not only that, it was also right next to a beautiful library. One thing that Virginie almost loves more than me, is books. This spot was the perfect place to create a lifelong memory and I could use the library as an excuse to take her there.

The plan was set! I would tell Virginie we would be going to Old Town Scottsdale on Saturday evening to do some touristy stuff and stop by the library. Afterward, we would find a nice restaurant to finish the night off at.

Saturday was here and I was confident in the plan that I devised in my head. Virginie had no idea about what was going to happen because of the day before I told her that I would propose on her birthday, to make it extra special. Surprisingly, I was not nervous at all, I knew this is what I wanted. Virginie was the one and nothing was ever going to change that.

Getting Ready For The Night Ahead:

We started this day much like the days prior, slowly waking up while enjoying our coffee and watching some show on Netflix. Virginie and I decided not to rush to get dressed up and do an activity during the day because we knew we were going to have a busy evening. This worked in my favor because of how easily tired I get. Virginie was very understanding of my limited strength and would always remind me to take it easy. For someone who had not been around a person with SMA much, she sure did understand it well. I usually try to hide my struggles but she could see right through me.

Our lazy day was quickly ending and it was now time for us to get dressed up for our night on the town. Well… I should not say dressed up because we definitely dressed for comfort. Virginie had on her active wear and I wore the usual t-shirt and shorts combo that I have become so accustomed too. She definitely looked a lot prettier than me but like Virginie always says, “you are just being biased!” I might be a little bias but it isn’t hurting anything.

While Virginie was doing last minute touch-ups in the bathroom, I had my mother quickly hide the engagement ring inside my inhaler box. This way Virginie would have no reason to look inside of it unless I asked for it. I thought it was pretty clever but I don’t think Virginie did. You will find out why a little later.

Old Town Scottsdale:
MG_0526_2.jpg
As we made our way to Old Town Scottsdale, I showed Virginie where I used to live. Living in Old Town was a memorable time in my life so I had a lot of stories to share with her. From the time I tipped my power wheelchair for the first time in my life to getting into teenage mischief with my friends. While sharing all of this with Virginie, I realized I somewhat missed living over here. It made me even happier with my decision to create another life-long memory here.

We were dropped off just outside of Old Town because finding accessible parking on a Saturday evening would have been a headache. One thing that Virginie and I both liked doing was walking so having to walk a little further was welcomed.

Upon entering into Old Town we headed towards Main Street because Virginie wanted to do a bit of souvenir shopping. No place better than Old Town Scottsdale to get the best Arizona themed souvenirs. We went in and out of the many western stores that lined the street. After going into a couple, you start to realize they all sell the same thing but it was still entertaining for the both of us. It gave Virginie a real feeling of how she perceived the wild west. Cowboy and Indian treasures everywhere she set her eyes.

The Nerves Set In:

It was starting to get around the time all the shops were closing up. We hit one last shop near the park we had to walk through to get to the library which happened to be next to the “LOVE” sign. Virginie quickly went around the shop while I stared aimlessly at the miniature statues on display, thinking about what I was about to do. I wouldn’t say I felt nervous but it was definitely the only thing I could think about. I am actually surprised I did not give away what I was about to do to Virginie. She is usually really good at catching on if something isn’t right even when we’re chatting from halfway around the world.

Virginie finished up her little shopping trip and now it was time for us to make our way towards the library. In order to get there from where we were located, we had to cross through this pathway which also acted like a park. I had not been on this pathway in ages and I forgot how beautiful it was. Green grass, brick walkway, and amazing little fountains the entire way through. This made me feel even better about my decision to pick this place to propose to Virginie.

On our journey through this pathway, we saw quite a few photos shoots happening. They were mostly maternity shoots with a couple engagement and bridal shoots scattered around. It seemed like I was not the only one with the idea of creating a special memory but that did not make me question my decision. I was still thrilled for what I was about to do and the time was almost here.

LOVE Is Near:

We started to get to the end of the pathway and out of the corner of my eye, I saw it, the “LOVE” sign. My throat immediately went dry and felt tight. My heart felt like it was going a million miles per hour. It was like all my nerves suddenly hit me at mach seven. I honestly have never felt such a sudden change in my mental state like that. For the record, I have panic disorder so this was some serious feelers happening.

Virginie did not notice the sign as quickly as I did which is understandable. I pointed it out and said, “let’s go over there for a second.” There was one minor dilemma, a wedding party was doing a photo shoot in front of it and it looked like it was going to take some time to finish. Instead, we decided to go sit by the pond to chat a little bit and enjoy our surroundings. The problem was I could barely concentrate enough to put together coherent sentences. It was time.

While studdering and acting like I was short of breath, I asked Virginie if she could get me my inhaler. Virginie’s face went white with pure fear that something was about to happen to me. She knows about my breathing problems and has experienced them first hand. Seeing me struggle to breath is absolutely terrifying to her.

“Don’t worry Virginie, I am just having a little trouble,” I said to her trying to calm her nerves. She sifted through my bag trying to grab my inhaler. I heard her hand grip on to the box and slide open the top. The ring swiftly slid from the box to her hand and then everything went quiet. It took Virginie a couple of seconds to process what had just happened. Virginie came around to the front of me and I looked her in the eyes and asked: “will you marry me, Virginie?”

“Yes, of course, I will!” She said this and instantly her pale skin turned bright red with little drops forming in her eyes. I could tell that her nervousness had faded into joy and relief.

We did not say much for the next few minutes because we were just processing the events which had just taken place. The best way that I can explain the feeling is pure blissfulness.
22852866_10159408728905109_6587086267005772600_n.jpg
Realization:

We sat and looked out towards the pond, not saying much but speaking with emotions. The events that had just transpired created a very surreal moment for us. We met over a year ago we zero intent of creating a relationship and here we are now engaged. All the frustration of being so far from each other, all the months of waiting and all hurdles we faced. It all culminated in this single moment and I think it was hard for us to formulate a conversation. It felt right to just sit there with each other and speak with our actions.

Once our minds returned to reality and we could harness the moment, it was time for us to figure out what to do next. After a few minutes had passed, I asked Virginie if she would like to see the library before it closes. With a huge smile and freshly teared eyes, she said yes. We got our footing and resumed our journey towards the library with our hearts feeling warm.

Visiting The Library:
DSC_0207.jpg
The Scottsdale public library is quite beautiful. Virginie and I would often stop to take pictures of the statues which are scattered around the entrance. We also admired all the desert vegetation which lined the outside of the library.

Once in the library, Virginie turned into a bookworm, her natural form. She went up and down the aisles feeling the backs of the books. When she would stumble across a book she was interested in, she would write it down in the note section of her phone. It was amusing to watch someone get so excited about books in a library. I am usually not a huge fan of the library but this visit was entertaining.

On our way out, we stopped by the used books for sale. We did not have much time before the library closed but that did not stop Virginie. She went through all the books with haste and found some books that she wanted. Books make her so happy which makes me happy.

Hunger Was Calling:

Our stomachs were starting to call out for dinner by this time. With the excitement that happened in the previous hours, we barely noticed our hunger growing. We had a large selection of places we could eat in Old Town Scottsdale. After a back and forth discussion of what we wanted to eat, Virginie and I decided on a nice juicy burger. Nothing more American than that!

When we arrived back onto Main Street, I asked one of the bicycle cab drivers where his favorite burger place is. He listed off a few but gave a place called Karsen’s Grill a raving review. It was set, we were going to Karsen’s Grill! It sounded delicious and it was not too far from where we were located. Which was a bonus because we had been doing quite a bit of walking by this point in our little journey out.

Arriving at Karsen’s Grill, we realized it was fairly empty which was not odd given that it was still early in the evening. It was actually quite convenient because the place was small, especially for a wheelchair.

The menu at Karsen’s Grill was short and simple, I like when restaurants do that because it makes me feel confident that the food will be good. With that being said, Virginie went with some type of South-Western style burger with Sweet Potato Fries and I wanted to try their Green Chili Mac ‘n’ Cheese.

Now, we must talk about these Fries! I usually hate Sweet Potato anything but these fries were insanely good. So crispy with the perfect amount of sweet and salty. I still think about these fries because they were so good. Virginie also feels the same way about these glorious Sweet Potato Fries.

Virginie and I both shared our meals with each other so we could get the most out of dinner. Her burger was cooked perfectly and it had just enough spiciness to it. My Mac ‘n’ Cheese was the right consistency with a little kick in the back of the throat. Overall, it was a pleasant experience and Virginie and I would love to come visit again.

After our dinner, we only had one thing left to do before we called it quits for the night. I wanted to take Virginie to a famous dessert place we have in Old Town Scottsdale called the Sugar Bowl. I had been to this place a million times and every local Phoenician knows how iconic it is. With that being said, I could not rob Virginie of that experience.

Sugar Bowl:
SUG-BWL-Exterior-76dfe4675056b3a_76dfe631-5056-b3a8-4963c790d9a3983c.jpg
We arrived at the 50’s style ice cream parlor and this place was packed. I was somewhat expecting it to be busy but not to the point it was. Thankfully, we did not have to wait too long to be seated.

I would tell you exactly what we ordered but I honestly cannot remember. The thing about the Sugar Bowl is that the ice cream isn’t particularly special. It tastes like store-bought ice cream that is always on the verge of melting. The only aspect that keeps this place in business is the history behind. I still love this place but it is hard for me to get excited about it. I don’t think Virginie thought the ice cream was anything special but she did enjoy the atmosphere of the place.

While we were at the Sugar Bowl, I did learn something about Virginie. She is exceptionally good at Basketball arcade games. Virginie was sinking shots like a professional! The arcade portion of the Sugar Bowl was probably the best part of going there.

Once our time at the Sugar Bowl ended, we were running low on energy. It was time for us to end this special night which we’ll remember forever. We walked through the streets to the outskirts of Old Town Scottsdale where we were picked up to go home.

We ended that night much like the previous nights, with our hearts full of love and smiles on our faces.

Sort:  

Congratulations @parkerfoshay! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @parkerfoshay! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!