I am back but not every day

in #blog6 years ago

Update

Well, I have written a blog post on here for quite some time now. I have been busy with another project for the past four or five months and I have not found the time the time to sit down and write regularly. This other project is a little more serious and I don’t think many of you will find of any use but I will link it below.

Now, for the reason I am writing this! I will be releasing the first chapter of the story of Virginie and I this coming Saturday and then one chapter every week. This should result in around two months of content. I am not releasing it all at once because it is quite long and I am not completely finished with it. Each chapter is around 1000 words long with a few pictures to accompany it. In the entire 100 days I blogged, I only had about five posts go over that 1000 wordmark. Comparatively, these chapters will be fairly substantial, some more than others.

Crowdfunding?

I wanted to bring up the idea of crowdfunding because I feel very uncomfortable about this topic. As some of you know, Virginie is my fiancée and she is from France. We have started the immigration process for her to move here, this is a pricey endeavor we are taking on. Virginie and I can afford it, it is just a matter of time because we can only put a small portion aside every month.

My friend brought up the idea of crowdfunding to help speed up this process. Virginie and I are shooting for January of 2019 to have her immigrate. At our current rate of saving, we should be able to hit this goal but it will be tight. What are your thoughts on crowdfunding? I have never been a huge fan of it but I might be in the minority.

Below I will price out what our expenses are looking like:

First block – $900 to our attorney. $535 to the department of homeland security. One way ticket from France ±$400

Second block – 10 months after Virginie immigrates we pay our attorney $1900 to begin the permanent residency (not citizenship) process.

Total = $3700

Not as bad as we expected but still expensive. Thankfully, our attorney is very accommodating and we have worked out a payment plan. Please let me know below what you think. Stay tuned for the first chapter coming out on Saturday!

My new project: https://www.foshaymedia.com