Mom Rant: The First Of Many?

in #blog7 years ago

I have had to do battle with my little boy's tantrums all day yesterday and finally found a bit of "me" time at an odd hour of the day or should I say, wee hours of the morning.

We were blessed with a very long break last week, a solid FIVE days!  Two public holidays, the weekend plus one surprise day-off that was declared at the last-minute by the prime minister to commemorate the wonderful performance of the nation's athletes at the SEA Games. 

As such, T and I had the pleasure of my hubby's company that commenced last Thursday up to this Monday.  Well, it was fun while it lasted!!  Now that we are back to the humdrum of life, the little boy is having a hard time comprehending why his papa had to go back to work.

"Hawo?  Hawo?"

T hopped around the hall and  chirped like Tweety the bird all day while putting one hand on his ear.  After getting zero response from upstairs, what ensued was a meltdown of epic proportions.  Times the frequency by 5.  *faint  Yelling obviously does not work, I have tried it a few times a while back.  Oh, poor ol' naive me..  If it does anything, the yelling only got us BOTH all the more riled up.

September is looking up to be a stellar month of breaks for the working folks here as there will be a public holiday every Friday or Saturday for the coming four weeks.  I hope to be able to retain some semblance of sanity for a few days more before help comes in the form of T's papa.

p.s. I wonder if there is a "mom rant" category in Steemit, this post ought to be filed under that today.

p.p.s. I think I could do with a few more cups of joe like this one from the local cafe in town called  The Muffin House.  The accompanying slice of black forest cake makes a great pick-me-up.