Strive for "scout mindset" for good judgment #3

in #blog6 years ago

If you are puzzled why I wrote about my mindset yesterday - even so I said that I will cover my transition to a vegan lifestyle - let me explain it today:
I now think that it takes some specific traits for a person to change and I am not talking about looks or knowledge but things like curiosity and openness - characteristics that are generally regarded as good and desirable. Characteristics that I strive for because I do believe that they are crucial for rational decision making.
If you wanna make rational decisions in order to improve your life (any aspect of it) those are the "must have" traits. Luckily you are not born with or without them but you can acquire them through your thoughts and embrace them through your mindset. (I hope it's more clear now why I focus on the mind at the beginning of my blog - it's so important!)

What really helped me "learn" about this mindset was a TEDx-Talk I watched on Youtube about 2 years ago. It was from Julia Galef with the title "Why 'scout mindset' is crucial to good judgment" and I can highly recommend you watch it (several times) and do some thinking about it, maybe even embrace parts of it and see how it effects your life!

Since I am a big friend of rationalism I strongly relate to the "scout". Nonetheless I want you to know that it takes a lot of thinking and reflecting to get there - just keep positive and never stop trying!

V
BJ

PS: Here's the link for the Talk if you are to lazy to search for it: