24/7 go-to-place | Diary Entry #8

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Since August last year, I have been working in a laboratory. It's the kind of work that I didn't imagine I'd be doing, well aside from the "flexi-time" (where you can work on your own time). The tasks are a little different to what I have studied in my undergraduate years. Laboratory work is mostly research, we work on projects that are most often the not we don't know how it would end up. Even though, we have a well-thought plan of our end goals, along the way we would encounter problems we have to troubleshoot. It's kind of exciting since our everyday isn't a repeat of what we have already accomplished, mostly we integrate and integrate the things that are needed to be optimized. I love what I do, but, there are times when it's hard to manage my time especially when my academic loads are having its own demands.


There are times when I would have to go to the lab early in the morning. Just like in the photo below, this was when I have to meet a deadline. I woke up early in the morning, and went my way to the lab before the sun rises. It was still the cold mornings of February and since the city is well known for its bad traffic, commuters are already on their way to work, same as me. The only difference is that I live on a walking distance apartment and I get to walk and see this view of Katipunan. This lane is actually home for different universities, along this lane you would find diverse students.

C00D57BD-D961-47C8-A6AA-A79C8B35300C.jpg


Also, most of the time I spend my weekends in the lab. It doesn't sound good how I've been spending so much time working in here. But to be honest, even in my academic and research loads, I am more productive when I work in the lab. Here's to one weekend, when coincidentally there's an ice cream vendor in front of our building, it was my breakfast!

592702D1-541D-4DC3-BF7B-0E109BB70FDD.jpg


Even though I am not having much time meeting my family or friends, I know this will pay off after some time. I am just glad that I have this place I can go to as I pursue my graduate study and work at the same time. I remember, the first time I came into this building, it felt so huge that I'd get lost inside. And today, some months later, I can say that it feels like home to me.