Moving...

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

IMG_1928.jpg

Three years ago, I moved to Ireland. Instead of using a relocation service, I put everything I thought I needed into a few suitcases and did my own moving. In these suitcases, you would find a sleeping bag, outfits for work and leisure, important paperwork, shoes, all my tech-stuff, rain-gear, etc.

I didn't have a house yet, so what could I possibly need? The first two weeks I would spend in a hotel and I just kept my fingers crossed that I would find something soon enough...

Let's say, that was a bit of an adventure. And doing it this way made it take a longer time for me to realise that I was actually moving to Ireland and not just there on a very long holiday.

The rest is history. I was lucky enough to find an apartment pretty soon, but it wasn't as completely furnishes as I hoped for. So I went to Ikea for an over the top shopping spree, assuming they would deliver which they would not for the small stuff. I went back to Amsterdam very regularly to bring another full suitcase with me on the way back to Dublin. And when I, one year later, moved back to Amsterdam, this resulted in an actual moving van having to drive all my stuff over.

But @r00sj3, why share this trip down memory lane now?

Well... I'm going to do it all over again. I just heard that it's official now!

I'm moving to Dublin!!

I am pretty excited to have found a job where I can have a meaningful social impact. My @SteemPeak buddies are teasing me about my new employer though. But it will probably be a good addition to my resume anyway. (I can't and won't give more details here, sorry ;))

So the coming weeks will all be in preparation for the "big move". Having done it before makes me a little too chilled this time with the risk of not thinking things through. I didn't keep the lists that I created last time. But I also don't want to go to Ikea for a second time to end up with triple of everything I need (with having everything double still stored in the Netherlands).

Last time I thought I was pretty clever to think about bringing a sleeping bag for the first night in my new house. What are things that you would bring if you can only bring 2 suitcases for the first 2 months in a furnished apartment? Apart from the standard clothes and things?

Sort:  

Congrats!!

Thanks ;)

A job where you can have a meaningful social impact..

...

You're becoming a proressional boxer?

nope ;)

:'(

I had so high hopes for you.

Mannnnnnnnnn it's getting real!!!

I would bring cheese. And a sleeping mask in case you don't have curtains (yet). That's it.

Oooooh, brilliant! ( I totally forgot I had cheese in the suitcase last time :))

Oh, and me. You could consider packing me.

I will bring you on the second flight... so I know that there is a guest bed for you to sleep in ;)

Awwwwwww

Deal

Hi @r00sj3!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.959 which ranks you at #1147 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 37 places in the last three days (old rank 1184).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 166 contributions, your post is ranked at #40.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @r00sj3! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 23000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!