How to avoid long term breaks from routine

in #blog6 years ago

Today I'd like to talk about the power of routine, and why it is so essential to make sure you are constantly fulfilling your checklists.

In any long term goal, it is important to break down a problem. For instance, if you are designing a software project, it is not going to get done overnight. You need time, energy, and a game-plan.

This is where routine comes in handy. However, for someone who is not adjusted to a routine, many often fall back to negative feedback loops when they miss out on trying to complete what they need to. My advice?

Don't worry about it. Try your best at where you are currently.

There will be times where you falter, because you are not a robot. That's everyone. I vowed to have at least two articles out a week. Last week was the only week so far this year that I didn't do two steemit articles, I could only do one. But that's totally fine, because my mindset is such that I'm not under pressure because of the one misstep.

I am okay with writing 3 in a week, in I will give myself plenty of time to do so in the near future.

Because my mentality is such that I made this inherently negative thing (failure) into a positive feedback loop for myself, I am more energized to finish what I am doing, and give respect to my long-term vision.

One day, when this long-term project is completed, I'll move on to the next one with less missteps and even more discipline.

Although you shouldn't encourage dropping yourself out of the routine, it is important to not be too hard on yourself if it happens. It's not the end of the world. Life is long, and your opportunities vast. Do not let failure or procrastination get in the way of that. Try your best to do what you say you are going to do. It will make you stand out from the crowd in a good way, and once you have people relying on you for things, that is when you will start to have some power, and probably end up achieving a higher social status/earning more money.

Too many people are content with mediocrity, and I have a hunch that it is because they don't structure their lives properly. If you want something, outlining a plan and sticking to it will take you miles. Once you get good at this, splitting up the plan into increments and checking it off every day will make you feel a bit better every day about yourself.

Because you will have the feeling you earned it. And you did.

https://img.purch.com/w/660/aHR0cDovL3d3dy5saXZlc2NpZW5jZS5jb20vaW1hZ2VzL2kvMDAwLzAwNS8zODkvb3JpZ2luYWwvMDgxMjA5LWxpZ2h0LWJ1bGItMDIuanBn