Home Sweet Home

in #blog • 6 years ago (edited)

Latitude: 33.270554 | Longitude: -79.898094đź“Ť


IMG_2066.JPGphotos by me

There is an old saying, “home is where the heart is” and as I grow older it becomes more true. Macedonia, South Carolina is where I consider home to be. A small country town about 45 minutes north of Charleston where there are more churches than stop lights and one corner store that services the communities cars, hearts, and appetites.

Sounds great doesn’t it, but for all that home had to give it couldn’t suppress my desire to see what else the world had to offer. I ended up leaving home at the age of 18 to join the military after graduating from high school because I knew the town of Macedonia wasn’t big enough for me anymore.

For the past 11 years I’ve been able to visit on roughly 10 occasions for a few days at a time. In the beginning a few days was more than enough since boredom comes out of nowhere rather quickly in a small town.

During the first five of those years I returned home to see nothing had really changed. Everyone was going through the motions of their daily lives that had mirrored the last 10 years or so. This meant after catching up with my family and close friends I would be itching to venture back out into the world.

That isn’t the case anymore. The small town that seemed to stand still for many years is now changing at a pace that saddens me a bit.

With each new visit I’m reminded of the cycle of life as I learn someone from my childhood has passed away to then be told a friend of mine has welcomed a new baby into the world. The younger me was ok with receiving those updates over the phone, but the older me now understands the weight of each message.

Those close to me are getting older by the day. Losing my grandfather last year really began to put things into perspective along with a podcast that had a sobering message.

The guest said to stop telling ourselves that we have “years” left with someone if we only see them once in a blue moon. In reality you can probably count the times you will see them before they are gone on your two hands.

Let’s use myself as an example. I’m usually able to make it home once a year. So if I’m lucky enough to have my parents around for the next 10 years I can expect to see them 10 more times. That's it. How would that line of thought change how you spend those precious moments with people close to you? Thinking this way really makes you value the time with your loved ones as each visit means so much.

With that being said it’s clear the invisible pull from home is making it tougher to leave now when I visit. Whether that pull is enough to bring me home for good remains to be seen.


10929123_10152776736929965_8940940752700512807_o.jpg

IMG_2068.JPG


Thanks for reading and enjoy the rest of your day! Remember to upvote, comment, and resteem!✌

Check out some of my other content below.✍🏻

• Ulog #3 - A reader lives a thousand lives.
• You are posting too often. Yes YOU!
• Ulog #2 - The rich get richer.
• NBA Free Agent Frenzy - Day 1
• U.S. Soccer = Pay to Play

Sort:  

Sometimes distance is needed and sometimes distance is your enemy. I hope you will be able to improve the situation, and get to see your parents and other loved ones more often.

Great post.

Thanks for reading.

. I’m usually able to make it home once a year. So if I’m lucky enough to have my parents around for the next 10 years I can expect to see them 10 more times

This made me sad.. the tyranny of distance. It's a hard line to walk sometimes.

Loved the quality of this post.

A hard line indeed. We do the best with what we have while enjoying the time we get. Thanks for stopping by and I'm glad you enjoyed the post.

Is the top picture the house you grew up in?

No it’s just an old shed that has been on the property since I was a child. It was torn down recently so I took a photo for memories sake.

I figured as much I was just messing around =p then again you never know it could have been a great story if it was your house after all.

fark dude.. you hit me in the feels...

We lost grandpa 3 years ago now.. there is not a day that goes by that I don't think about it. Mom lives far too... i see her once a year.

I need to remedy this, I really do.

It's tough man. I'm thankful for technology. We try to us it to our advantage to make up for the distance between us all. I too will be actively looking for ways to improve the current situation.

That's like the heartland that John Cougar Mellencamp sings about. One day I hope to get van and go see all 50 states, the little places with 10 churches, that's the real America. Macedonia SC!

I hope you get to fulfill that dream as well. It's funny how most of us always dream of traveling overseas when theres so much to be discovered right here. Thanks for stopping by.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ross-early
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=home-sweet-home


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ross-Early from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.