Learning the hard way - What I think is bad about Steemit!

in #blog6 years ago

4956-sometimes-you-have-to-learn-the-hard-way.jpg

I started very enthusiastically on Steemit after my account got approved, and got into writing and curating from the very first day! My last post, a week ago, got 21 upvotes and 47 views!

I talked to friends about Steemit, and invited them to create an account too, and transfer their content creation efforts here - got some very positive reactions, and kept me going.

I couldn't be more exited, but then I got slapped hard! An error message saying: "Bandwidth limit exceeded. Please wait to transact or power up" was there to forbid me from doing anything - and I could literally do nothing on the site other than browsing posts.

Despite the error message, I took the time and started reading about the platform! I must admit that this was a great opportunity, cause it enabled me to learn a lot about steemit and its use that are not anywhere in a FAQ, and I believe they should be - especially for newbies who like the idea of this platform, like I do, and want to contribute as much as they can.

During this venture of trying to understand as much as I can, I found out about two very interesting and useful steemit companions, namely steemstats and steemd that helped me comprehend a lot about the voting power and other details of my account.

Then the sun was up in the skies again - I could comment and post and the bandwidth was enough for me to be part of the community. But I held back because I didn't want to run out of it again, so I decided to conduct small experiments and see how this platform is best used.

After a week of trying out various strategies of use, I came to realize something that sudden me even now that I decided to write about it: Steemit doesn't reward highly the most communal and pro-social participants; it benefits mostly those who act in an individualistic way! It's easy to profit by not curating for what you might think it's the best content, but by obeying to what the system rewards as the behavior of a good curator.

Don't get me wrong, I'm certainly not complaining - especially after my last post where I wrote about other bad signals I identified on the community, that's the last thing I'd like to do! I do see a great potential on this platform for community development, and I still even haven't explored the potentials and possibilities of the cryptocurrency behind it.

While I am writing this post, I still think I might be wrong on my observations, and truly hope to be - honestly! I'll get back to writing and curating for what I believe it's good content, and try to do what I think it's best for the community.

If you think I might be wrong, please don't hesitate to comment and let me know what you think - that's the whole point of this post: to start a discussion and try to make steemit a better place for all, not for one! Also, if you think my content might be of interest or see potential in my development here, please follow me and I'll make sure I'll follow you back too - it's a great way to meet new people and curate for some great content!

Sort:  

Great job and thank you for the invitation!

hello @saggel and welcome to steemit!

this is a great place with a great community .. glad to have you.
@ricmark

I'm going to help you because I think your spirit is awesome! (and you are a fellow greek)
I'm going to send you 5 Steem... use it to power up and get some SP that will help your posts be seen. You need to increase your number from 25 and this should help