Hard Fork? You Should Really Reconsider This Term.

in #blog5 years ago

I firmly believe that the Hard Fork term should be re-evaluated and most likely changed with less aggressive and more inclusive word choices.

Personally, I think that the word hard represents a form of hostility and microaggression, because it implicitly calls for violence.

The word fork is absolutely inacceptable in my opinion, since it's discriminatory and racist, because it's not inclusive enough:

I think that a progressive, open-minded community like the one we have on Steemit should really be more careful about things like this.

More importantly, I think that this platform should evolve in the direction of becoming a true safe space, where love, compassion and inclusion will flourish.

Sort:  

I understand what you are saying, but it is standard blockchain terminology for all blockchains, not just the Steem BC. It is meant to sound aggressive as it is a radical, a very big change that makes the old versions of the blockchain [partially] incompatible with the newer ones. And it is a fork, as the chain [temporarily] splits in 2.

There is a soft fork, that is mainly used for bugfixes etc (for example, when the Steem BC went from 0.19 to 0.19.1)

You are missing the sarcasm tag :P

Posted using Partiko Android

I really hope this is sarcasm..

Soft language or political correctness wont make the problems disappear..

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe you should check other posts in my blog and make your own conclusion ;)

no interest in feminism

Top tier trolling, lol... no one is safe! ^_^

I like it hard. Don't see what the problem with that!