The Million Dollar BBQ

in #blog6 years ago

I shoot a lot of real estate virtual tours up here in the Truckee Tahoe area, it's my bread and butter. Most of the time the homes are nice but nothing too special for the area. Yesterday I had the pleasure of photographing a home above Donner Lake in Truckee, California. The house is OK, it's big but needs some love and updating. The view, however, is perfect.

_Q1A3543.jpg

This BBQ and the view you would have while grilling a nice ribeye is what "sold" the house to me. No, I didn't really buy the house, but I often get to fantasize briefly about how it would be to live at some of the incredible homes I shoot. Man, I would love to stand at this BBQ with a nice glass of red wine in my hand, the warm sun shining on my face, and the beautiful view pleasing my eyes.

Donner Summit, a favorite hiking area of mine, can be seen on the right. I would be able to keep an eye on the sky all day in order to see if the sunset was going to be nice. Although, if I could afford this house, I would probably just enjoy the show from my deck rather than rushing off to "work" and capture the sunset. Maybe I should start playing the lottery...

The rest of the photos can be seen in this VIRTUAL TOUR, but as I said, the rest of the house is just OK.

This image was photographed on a Canon 5DSr with a 16-35mm lens set at 16mm. The ISO was 200, and the shutter speed was 1/200 second. The aperture was f11, small enough to get a good depth of field on a wide angle lens, but wide enough to let in some light from the two flash units I used. The two flashes create a "fill flash" to help fill in the shadow areas a bit with some light. The shadows were further lightened up in Adobe Photoshop's Camera Raw feature.

What do you think? Is this BBQ and view worth the over one million USD they are asking? I wonder if they would take STEEM???



Thank you for looking and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

Sort:  

What a perfect view, love to stay have a drink and a bbq here all day.

When I make enough STEEM to buy the place, I'll invite you over for some wine and ribeye!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

All this photo is missing is a brisket and a beer!

Haha! Yeah! That sounds great too. Cheers!

Oh, and thank you for the resteem!

That view is just remarkable! You captured it beautifully! Now I'm going to spend the next few days going through your helpful photography posts! Nice work!

Haha! Cool, hopefully my how-to posts help a little. Yeah, that view was something else. I actually shot another "million dollar bbq" yesterday, a Lake Tahoe lakefront. There are some incredible homes up here. Thank you!

Now that is a nice BBQ! When are you inviting us over?

Just as soon as STEEM goes to the moon and I can buy the place... Cheers!!!

Seems to be going to the bottom of the ocean today !

I know :(
But I'm sure it will bounce back up :)

I'd buy that place just for the view! If I wasn't so broke I mean... :)

Yup, the view was amazing. And I hear you... Not in my budget. Cheers!

That's definitely a million-dollar view, but I think the little white cat statue thing knocks off a few grand. You threw it over the edge, right?

Hahaha! No way! He'd be my drinkin' buddy...

I saw your shots in the virtual tour. Very nice. I don't know I'd pay 1 mil for a place like that. Sure its nice and kind of out in the middle of nowhere. Do they have fast internet? Is there a bunker I don't know about in that hill the house sits on? I guess a million bucks isn't THAT much nowadays. Either case, nice shots there @scottshots.

Hahaha! If it did have a bunker, the homeowner kept it a secret and didn't have me photograph it. Yeah, we have fairly fast internet up here. A lot of San Francisco area folks have second homes up here so our cable company needs to keep them happy. I certainly can't afford the 1+ mil but it's actually a decent price for a large home with a nice view up here. Glad you like the photos, cheers!

Looks like a great place to wake up early and cook breakfast with a view! A golden sky as the sun rise would look unreal 🌄 Nice photo Scott, love the cloud streaking through the sky too.

Yeah! That side burner/stove would definitely get plenty of use cooking bacon too... Donner Lake get's some incredible sunrises, it would be heaven living there and I'd probably spend more time on the deck than inside. Glad you like the photo, thank you!

Stunning photo! That view is perfect... In that area a house with that view would be more expensive than one on the lake?
Something that I liked about the post (because I've already said the photo was perfect) is that you said that you used 2 flashes to reduce shadows, something I would have never thought of.
Thanks for the advise!

Lake fronts are definitely more expensive than view properties, probably about double for the square footage compared to this one (disclaimer: I am not a realtor lol). If I were to win the lottery, I would probably buy a lake front. But something about this particular bbq view and location was special. Glad you appreciate the two flash info!

Awesome. Loved the virtual tour too. I certainly miss all that greenery and water out the window, now that we are living in Las Vegas.
Hmmm a lottery win would nice as well 😁

Hey, if you win that lottery you can have a vacation home up here! Thank you @eventspeaker! Glad you enjoyed that.

Sounds like a plan. I’ll have to start working on my lottery wins.

Or maybe just invest heavily in STEEM...

YES now you're talking.

What a freaking view. Both that deck and the office!

Right!? I almost posted that office pic too, lol. Man, what a cool place to sit and write a steemit post...

Congratulations @scottshots! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!