New Beginnings, and Back to Hive

in #blog2 years ago

20220530_161639.jpg

It's been a couple of months since my last post, and a lot has happened. So this serves as a bit of blog and reflection for me. It also serves as a post to get back into the habit of writing. This habit will become more and more important as the coming months pass.

After spending the first few months of the year travelling with my wife in our van doing the vanlife thing, we've settled in an area and now we both have jobs. As of yesterday, we are completely done with our old business and are no longer self employed. This is a relief.

My wife has found a job working with animals as a zookeeper, and she's much happier working outdoors with animals than she is working with people.

I've got a job as a camp host / maintenance person at a campground. I also much prefer working outdoors and fixing things than I do the 24 / 7 customer service demands of my previous business.

So between the two of us we have a consistent place to park the van and a small income. We have very little personal expenses, and no rent. This is step 1 towards our search for some land to buy and homestead on.

The coming years will likely be full of more and more challenges posed by civil unrest, supply chain disruptions, and climate change. It's unwise at this point to bank on the current system being able to continue to support all of the people it does.

Instead, we'll disappear into the woods, and live off of the land.

Right now we're focused on work, but now that there's some stability in our lives I'll be updating the progress we make and insights we gain on Hive here. Again, as the world shifts, I think Hive will become an even more important social media platform for people. But that's a topic for another time. I think most Hivians already understand the importance of this little gem we have here.

20220601_063411.jpg

Anyway, the sun is coming up. It's time to get to work (minus all of the bullshit hustle associated with trying to run a profitable business amidst this capitalist decline.)

May all your day's projects go smooth, and all your plates be full of good food.