You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blog: Steem Supply (Potential Earnings Calculator)

in #blog7 years ago

I share your concerns mate. The problem is that HF19 made 2 changes, not 1.

Firstly the voting share was adjusted so it's no longer squared but a straight linear progression.

Secondly votes now cost more voting power (4x as much)

So the first change is great for minnows, amazing in fact. The second change however has a danger of turning the Steemit community into a very cliquey collection of sub-groups. You have 10 votes at full power every day, you might pick 10 friends and give them all 1 vote. You might pick your favourite creators and give them 1 vote. You're less likely now to upvote that random newbie who just made an intro post. It could become a barrier to entry for new steemians.

I did make a post about this but I won't be an ass and link it here, but it has some more rambles and details mixed in :)

Sort:  

I've already seen that post of yours mate, it was nicely written, I like it. It's too bad I haven't made an Introduction post yet. Wonder how much I could have earned there. Haha