You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Opinions - The similarity between motorcycle racers and fighter pilots

in #blog6 years ago

Great post batz, and is so true! Both are at the too level of vehicle speed and control, both have to have inhuman focus, insane precision and balls of steel! I always wondered what the acceleration of a fighter jet would be... I mean, would it be much faster than a gp bike? Obviously some jets go above Mach 2, but I wonder how quick they accelerate. Thinking of it, it will be more comparable to a jet powered drag bike or car! Just maniacal!

I’m pumped for lights out! It’s abot to go down at Le Mans 😀 this should be a good one! I’m predicting Zarco, dovi, Rossi!

Did you see Moto3? There was an insane crash and motocross style action from a rider it was so cool!

Enjoy the race bro :)

Sort:  

I think the initial acceleration of a motogp bike is far greater than a jet fighter (power to weight ratio taken into account), but over a stretch, the fighter's acceleration as it gains momentum is immense. But i'll say this - whether on a bike or a fighter, you'll get the OOOMPH factor for sure - that bodily pull and push you get when you have hard acceleration propelling you through space!

I watched Moto3, I pity Jorge Martin! I was rooting for him! The moto 3 boys are crazy.

Moto 2 was expected, Bagnaia won it by a mile. He's definitely someone to watch out for.

MotoGP was just so disappointing. I was rooting for Dovi, and I was excited to see him take the lead, only to be disappointed when he lost it. Zarco, too bad for him. Marquez is simply looking unbeatable this year due to the slides other folks are having. Honestly, I want Maverick and him to go toe to toe for a season. That would be epic.

Yea both would just be insane!

Moto3 is always so good, it has the craziest battles for sure!

I know MotoGP was frustrating! Seeing dovi crash out and Marc win.... imagine if Marc wasn’t in the championship it would be like craziest standings ever where anyone could potentially win! But Marc is too good... he fixes his mistakes instantly, he rides almost faster than physically possible... him vs maverick would be amazing, but it does seem like Marc is a step ahead. All of the other riders are pretty close, I mean there are around 10 riders who wouldn’t surprise me to win a race or at least battle for a podium, just Marc really looks ahead of the game at the moment

Yeah, I am afraid the title is decided already! Marc is too consistent and ahead of the bunch now. Let's see how Mugello unfolds. I would love to see Vale on the podium there!

It would be incredible to see vale on the podium there! I’m going with my heart and saying:
1st Rossi
2nd Dovi
3rd Iannone
4th Petrucci

I doubt Rossi would be, looking at the racing news. Yamaha is still struggling. Their Mugello test wasn't the best. Dovi, Marc and someone else on the podium is my take.

We should meet once when I'm in the UK.

I know, but it would be amazing to see Rossi win at home, and to have an all Italian podium in Italy! I hope dovi can win and Marquez crashes out haha!

Yea we definitely should it will be great to talk about bikes and motogp!

Mugello 2017 was such a cruel fate for Rossi with an engine blow up. So disappointing. And now, Yamaha are in deep trouble.

Where are you in the UK? I've to visit the Isle of Man for the TT!