Strange Happenings

in #blog6 years ago

This post was co-published at talanhorne.com.

Did anyone else notice that Valentine's Day falls on a Wednesday this year. Ash Wednesday, it turns out.

Which means little to me, but I can't help but feel bad for all the Catholics out there.

Well, all the Catholics in relationships, anyway.

Of course, it's not like I'm doing anything for Valentine's day, so maybe I'm in no position to talk.

Still, it's just one of those funny situations that I can't help but think about, wondering why I never thought of it before. It's one of those one-in-a-hundred happenings, like being born on Leap Day, or a Super Blue Blood Moon.

And it's reminds me that some of the greatest strange stories are ones that play out in real life.

An Example from Literature


Charles Dickens is often accused of relying on convenient coincidences to fill plot holes in his stories.

And while it's easy to accuse him of this, it becomes difficult to defend our own position in the light of the many outrageous coincidences that happen every day.

A few from history come to mind:

  • In 1895, there were only two automobiles in the entire state of Ohio. When one of the cars got into an accident, guess what it hit? That's right: the other car.
  • Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, James Monroe, and James Madison, all presidents of the United States and all considered Founding Fathers of the same, all died on the 4th of July.
  • When work began on the King James Bible in 1610, William Shakespeare was 46 years old. If you turn to Psalm 46 in the book, and go to the 46th word, it turns out to be...
CRACK!

*Someone comes crashing through the nearest door.*

Mr. Devil's Advocate: "Mr. Horne, come quick."
What's going on?

Mr. DA: "I just got off the phone with the hospital. There's been a development."

*Ten minutes of silence.*

Take me to him.

Called a Miracle


*Inside a sterile room at the hospital.*

I don't believe it.

Mr. DA: "It took 800 hours of surgery, with doctors working round the clock. They employed the most advanced medical techniques known to man. And it cost half a billion dollars. But in my line of work, this result is still called a miracle."

Can he...hear us?

Mr. DA: "He's drifting in an out of consciousness. But he'll live."

Hint Guy is going to live. He's alive!

Mr. DA: "Yes."

Which means I can start writing Hints again.

Mr. DA: "In time, yes."

He's going to be okay. Everything's going to be...

Going to be...

*Sigh*

It's Not Over, is It?


*Mr. Devil's Advocate almost breaks the silence, but decides not to. He waits for me to speak.*

I don't want to go to prison.

Mr. DA: "You killed a man."

I know.

Mr. DA: "A man who, it turns out, did not kill Hint Guy."

Yeah, I guess that's true.

But...there's so much more I want to do in the world. Hint Guy lives. And now, more than ever before, I want to live, too.

I don't want to go to prison. I don't want to lose what life I have, here in the free world. There's so much more I can offer. I don't want to lose it all.

Mr. DA: "You won't have to. I've handled hundreds of cases worse than yours. I've even defended the devil himself in courtrooms of the highest caliber. And I never failed to get him off the hook."

That's...not anything to be proud of.

Mr. DA: "Only to someone who doesn't appreciate the central purpose of lawyers. We are the testers of accusations. If an accusation cannot survive our scrutiny, then it does not belong in a courtroom."

Even if the accusation is true?

Mr. DA: "Being true is no justification for abandoning reason, objectivity, and critical thinking. If we refuse to challenge an idea just because that idea is the truth, then we won't be strong enough to resist all the clever lies this world has to offer. Refusing to accept every predetermined result is the job of an advocate, and all the more so for a devil's advocate."

*I look at the unconscious Hint Guy*

I'm not innocent.

Mr. DA: "I know."

Perhaps I should be punished.

Mr. DA: "Many people in your situation should be. But I don't think you should. You're not currently a danger to anyone. Imprisoning you would not make anyone safer, but it would deprive the world of someone special."

You believe that?

Mr. DA: "I always believe in my clients, no matter how bad they are."

Heh. That only makes me feel worse about myself.

Mr. DA: "My only job is to keep you out of prison. I don't require you to feel good about it."

I guess I understand.

Marching Toward the Third Act


The trial date keeps getting closer. I don't know how I can keep myself from losing it.

It may take everything I've got. It may also take weeks of learning new software to create the right images for it. I probably won't be ready when it happens. But I've got good friends. With any luck, they can keep me out of trouble.

Maybe.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

@talanhorne,
A new type of writing. Actually I didn't get it 100%, but I got what you mean! Why don't you think to write a series of comics based on Mr. Devil's series! I think it might be trending!

Cheers~

At first i resteem your post.
Happy valentine day to my dear friend- Early wishes.
This is great article and good story.
DQmabu9dYXAuMxQnA3Q3Wof2wSC27sJ6FAEPBaShgcebPG9.gif

You're a good knowledge person about writing and it's very difficult.
Your job is excellent story.
Thanks @talanhorne
Have a nice day

Mr. DA series again
Excellent post & well written the story.

Very good writing. thanks for sharing. @talanhorne

Great post!
It’s refreshing and I enjoyed reading it. I can imagine only two cars in the state of Ohio and still hitting each other.lol
BTW: the moon looks amazing.

Thanks for reminding me of Valentine’s Day.
800 hours long surgery is a miracle itself.
Keep out of trouble though.

posting a very good friend, I am very interested in your post.

Very good friend.
Upvote and resteeem

That is article is professional & Excellent writing . so great experience.
Thanks @talanhorne
100% like and resteem

Very good friend.

Good writing you just shared.Writing is very hard.
For your post propagation.
Upvote/Resteem

Upvote and resteem @talanhorne

You are a good person to write.your ideas and writing have been fulfilled.
This is great article and good story.thanks for sharing
(((((( Resteem service)))))

a very interesting story, I really like posting @talanhorne.

impressive writing & nice story you present to us today too. keep it up @talanhorne

@resteemia
reteemed & upvoted & commented & followed

@talanhorne, Excellent conversation published.
Showing good talent.

Hello @talanhorne,

Extraordinary good writing & incredible conversation. You made an extraordinary good writings.

~@mywhale

Perfectly publish better post shared using writing skills.
Awesome story indeed.

Congratulations @talanhorne
Now you are in the MinnowsPower Loyalty Member List...!!!

Exceptional story & excellent writing. Well Done...!!!

100% Upvoted by @MinnowsPower

hehe that was written amazingly well had a great time reading this one :D

Tomorrow up coming valentine day. You wrote this blog before those day. Very good discussion build up here.
All lovers, Happy valentine day to you all- Early wishes.

its my 6 year old boys birthday today and it falls on strove tuesday in australia. witch means pancakes for dinner .yewwww

@talanhorne wow nice post great article
##Upvote/Resteem###

@talanhorne - Sir I enjoyed by reading this story... How could you do it Sir... It's not easy to write something imaginary...

+W+

you always notice the coolest things ever hahah
thanks for sharing this post :)

This is great story and great writing experience.
Thank you @talanhorne
Resteem

Comic, fun, scary, story, all the things contains in this article. Well written & a best article ever~

Now that was really nice !!!
Great post by you once again i loved its ingenuity :)

Thank you so much for sharing your great writing.... I like your blog.....Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day.... you wrote an another great story....Excellent.... keep it up...

This is professional writing experience and great work.
Upvote Resteem

wow nice post i like your post sir..re-steem

Terrific work by you buddy thanks for sharing it :)

great that i read this it was really good to read loved your post always

great writting bro nice story like your post.

Thank for sharing.

Excellent post brother this was super nice
Great creativity :)

we got you covered there you need to be on a date hahah :)

Nice work bro thanks for sharing this post i had a great time :)

You really have great way of expressing things through your writing bro @talanhorne really amazed by the way you expressed each incident...... And bro wish you enjoy this valentine!!

this was something really different stuff from you nice to read it

amazong post really nice...happy Valentine's Day..

Loved it, You have got good writing skills. It was so interesting.
I would love to see more from you. Steem on :)

Great Action & amazing post
1512858656070.jpg


Amazing article and very professional writing style I loved you post
thanks for sharing sir @talanhorne
resteem done

really nice writing amazing post
re-steem

I appreciate your post..actually you are great one in this steemit..
I am always follow your post..
Cause I like your post always..
And your every post is mind blowing ..
Thanks for sharing your valuable post..
My support will for your every .

very good post my friend .. i like same post you friend

It was very strange that had happened @talanhorne

There are 2 pages
Pages