The First Time I Took A Break From Steemit, It Was Apathy. The Second--Cancer.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

It is amazing how much one diagnosis can change your perspective on life.

I am from the generation that never saw anyone having to take a smoke break outside. Sadly, my Father is not from that generation.

Last month, I found out that after almost fifty years of my father smoking, he was diagnosed with stage 3 small cell lung cancer. Everyone saw the warning signs coming, except for my Dad.

He would always say "My Grandfather smoked until he was 101...and he was perfectly healthy!". And, maybe that was true for him. But for my Dad, genetics have not worked out the same. And as a result, my entire world has been rocked.

In retrospect, my halfhearted attempts to get him to stop should have been wholehearted.

In some regards, I guess we all just want the people close to us to be happy. Which is why I cannot be really that upset that this all happened.

I guess...I just wish I could have been a better influence. I've not posted here for a while because I've thought that nothing I could have said was as authentic as the wishes I had that my Dad never ended up this way. I am slowly realizing that I never could have had control of that, and all I can do at this point is just provide all the support I can as a caring son in this situation.

Thank you Steemit for hearing me out in this situation.

I just do not know the right words to say, but I know your support will in part help get me through this.

@teamleibinz

Steemit Board Awards - Click Below for More Information
@teamleibinz@teamleibinz@teamleibinz@teamleibinz

Sort:  

I'm so sorry to hear about your father's diagnosis. It's understandable you regret not being more forceful in encouraging him to quit smoking, but at the same time this was probably outside the realm of your control given his lifelong habit.

My mother was diagnosed with breast cancer a few months ago—fortunately at an early stage—so I can relate in some capacity to how devastating a serious family illness can be.

Words fall short here, but I truly hope that you, your father and family will navigate this period with as much love, affection and comfort as possible.

Thank you for your kind words!

very good post

As you said, its not fair to beat yourself up in hindsight over things you should or shouldn't have done.

He's your dad, just support and be there for him. As I said before, there are effective treatments and he has a good chance of beating this demon. At the same time, I realize how gutted you must feel about it.

Keep on doing what you do, be that rock that you need to be for your father.

Best wishes to you both.

I just do not know the right words to say

<3

Very sad news. Hang in there man. It will be a rough ride ahead.

Follow and upvote hope do same

Congratulations @team-leibniz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @team-leibniz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

smoking can cause pregnancy & disorder .. and smoking can save lives.

Congratulations @team-leibniz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Any updates dude? I hope he's on the mend.

also wondering. praying for your dad

Thanks for informative content.

THANK YOU FOR THIS INCREDIBLE INFORMATION