less is more - how minimalism helps to live a happier life 😌

in #blog7 years ago

Minimalism seems to be THE key for being happy and gets more and more the mantra of many people all over the world. Sometimes it's nearly presented as a kind of life hack or something. I've never been able to make a use of this motto because I was really addicted to buying new stuff all the time. Being a shopaholic I dragged along tons of new clothes, decoration and other things I thought they'd be super neccessary. But suddenly this behavior changed.

Within one year I had to move three times and packaged all my stuff again and again. In the new apartment(s) some of the moving boxes stayed packed for weeks because I had no use for their content and did not even miss it. There were whole suitcases I did not even open, they just stood around. So over time I realized that most of my aggregated things are completely not needed and unappropriated. Of course, I liked all the things but what does that do if there was no use for them anymore?

Well, recently I decided to get rid of some stuff which I definitely don’t need and had to find out that many clothes have not been worn once. Some of them were still labeled and many decorative articles still in their original package. So I started selling some of my things and against my expectations it didn’t feel like I was loosing part of my belongings but really good and kind of freeing. I’m not yet done with this „clean-up sale“ but I’m pretty sure in the end I will thank myself for this decision even more.

IMG_3045.PNG

By separating out some stuff you don’t only get more space (e.g. for new beloved things) and your apartment tidier. Your kept things suddenly get a higher value for yourself and you learn to treasure your belongings a lot more. Minimalism defines the concentration on the basics, not restriction as many people misunderstand.

So let me give you an advice - check your stuff and think over its utility and emotional value for yourself. If there are some things that you might not need or have not even used, get rid of them! It’s a great experience and absolutely worth it! 😊👍🏼

Sort:  

Too many people wish and desire too many things.
But, it is a fact most of it you can't carry around or you don't even need it that much.
The things don't bring happiness, but people.
Too bad so many people forget all about it.

That's absolutey right, I totally agree with you! Sooner or later you have to realize that. Either people get it or not :)