Pimp My Ride: Painting the Car!

in #blog6 years ago



IMG-20180811-WA0014.jpeg



Howdy partners!



For several years I wanted to repaint my car. There were many reasons: The old varnish was almost burnt out by the sun, several road accidents left dents and scratches for memory... As the new coating was chosen "Raptor" by U-Pol, this was due to frequent off-road trips... but I was not happy with the price. In different companies work was priced at about $ 2000-2500 for the roof only. For a second, the cost of my car $ 2000... Willful decision to do it myself was taken! And I began to prepare mentally for this difficult case :) I studied the technique of working with the materials in particular and painting work in general. Finally, the day has come!



August 10 this year, I found a garage, it was in a bad state, and the owner didn't care what I would do there. So, I rent it.


I will quote car service employees - "You need to disassemble half of the car to dismount the railings." It took me an hour and a half to figure out how to do it.


IMG-20180811-WA0002.jpeg


After the railings were removed, I "put the car in a bag" :) and began to paint.


IMG-20180812-WA0004.jpeg


IMG-20180812-WA0000.jpeg


IMG_20180816_145440.jpg


More difficulty is that I need the car every day, and I don't have the opportunity to do everything at once. But it does not stop me, because I already got to work! I decided that I would buy parts - fenders, doors... then I'll paint them and replace.


Yes, I do not know how to do this, I have absolutely no experience in this matter. But the work has already begun - to retreat late!




My expenses:

  • Air compressor - $ 250
  • Rent (Garage) - $120/month
  • U-Pol Raptor (promo kit with "gun") - $ 90
  • Additional airbrush - $ 30
  • Pigment RAL 5002 (200 grams) - $ 30
  • Consumables (sandpaper, solvent, degreaser) ~ $ 25

Total ~ $ 545




I'm delayed by the rainy season and lack of free time... but


To be continued!





Sincerely, Terry Craft.


Sort:  

Cars ain't cheap!

I congratulate you

Quedó excelente mi hermano. Le deseo un buen fin de semana, un abrazo desde Venezuela.

Glad to see you posting again @terrycraft. Hope you are well.

Hi. Thank! Things good :)