I have something to admit...

in #bloglast year

This is a comment that I wrote about using AI like ChatGPT to write posts or comments on the Hive platform, it got long enough I thought I'd post on my blog as well. Here's a link to the original post...

I have an admission.... So for a quick sec (maybe two weeks) I experimented with ai - chatgpt - to write comments to Hive posts and I also "wrote" two blog posts using ChatGPT. I stopped because, well, I thought it was a bit obvious at times, and also I thought if found out it might make people feel a bit bad, and I just simply got bored with it (which happens a lot with me lol).

Though I must say it will be fucking amazing if I could have a personal ai that understood me and my style of writing and could fix it just enough that I would be understood better, not get so rambly, and not offend people so often.

So, usually on users actifit posts, I would see someone who wrote something very long and I would copy paste their text into chatgpt and ask for a reply to the post. Usually it would end up replying to everything that it could reply to giving me maybe a paragraph or two of text. I'd then take a sentence and copy paste it, with a little editing to make it more "me" and reply. Some people were really thankful to get any reply because there are a ton of people that post and don't get anything.

Anyways doing this experiment really helped me to learn about myself and others. I realized that I genuinely like giving people the sense that someone is here and listening, and also that many people are going through the motions and don't expect anyone to even acknowledge their existence on this platform. It's very lonely out here in the internet, be it regular social media or this web3 whatever. I've always been cynicle towards all of this which has gotten me labeled difficult or really angers people.
()
The other thing I've learned is that my autistic / adhd issues affect me even doing these things. What Chatgpt was really doing was giving me an easier way of doing what I wanted to do, which was responding and connecting. In my "disability" I was overwhelmed with people's text - sorry I only read half of what you wrote. But ChatGPT would reduce it to something palatable for me. In the ChatGpt reply, I actually got a better gist of what the person was writing, because if I read it myself I'd either get bored, get lost, get sidetracked..etc. Or I'd read it and think, ok what could I possibly reply with. My brain irl and online doesn't come up with responses to other people easily, but having GPT spit out something gave me something to work with. I don't know if that makes sense, but as an artist I've learned I always need something put down first, something to play with something to get my brain going. I put up designs on print on demand and until chatgpt I struggled for so long trying to make descriptions and titles and everything for my designs.
 "ai creation.jpg" ![ "fear.jpg"]
Sometimes in reading chatgpts reply I'd get curious of what it was replying about and I would go and read the portion that it was talking about. So ChatGPT was kind of filtering the interesting bits for me and I wouldn't get lost trying to read all the text.

I've tried to use ChatGPT to help my posts be more grammatically correct and not get so twisty and tangley but it takes too much of the "me" out and so I've currently given up on that. People so often see the bad before they see the good with advanced technology and I'm not saying it will all be good, but these tools can be utilized and really assist people like me in using their neurodiverse brain to communicate and "work" better.

I do find peoples fear or anger with it fascinating. I know you don't agree with the "it's gonna happen" argument. But that doesn't stop it from being true. We don't know what form it will inevitably take but the wave is coming in. A lot of this anger and fear seems like what people say about social media in general or the internet, "kids staring at their phones." It is what it is. I'm a visual artist, the only worry I have with ai art is it separates people into haves and have nots. The people that will be well versed in creating and interacting with the ai and people that will not be. But that has been the case with art in general. Oil paintings are much more highly regarded than acrylic and I believe a huge part of that is oil paint is expensive as fuck. So less artists can use it and get better at it, which makes it rare, which makes it valuable, to dumb ass rich people who have no understanding of what they are purchasing anyways

Sort:  

I also use ChatGPT to proofread my posts, as English is not my first language. Without it, I'm not sure if anyone would understand my English. Thank you for visiting my post.

Yes, it can be a very helpful tool.

Congratulations @thespacebetween! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 14000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2023
Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!