Questions to Ask Yourself (And Your Friends!) As You Ring in 2018

in #blog6 years ago

A couple years ago Matt and I were celebrating New Year’s Eve with a bunch of friends at a house party. At some point before midnight, our gracious hosts gathered as many of us as they could in the kitchen to ask each other a couple questions.

While I don’t at all mind public speaking, particularly amongst friends, there is something about being at the center of a rowdy group waiting for your honest answers that make your heart race a little bit. Afterall all, these were his friends, and I was the newcomer at this time, too.

As it turns out, the questions were quite simple to answer, and since then, I’ve fondly taken on the tradition. This year I’d like to share it with all of you.

The questions our hosts poised were phrased differently than this, but they encouraged the same thought, and I definitely recommend you get your family and friends and whomever else you’re ringing in the New Year with to take part.

Self-reflection is one of the best things you can do to move forward in life, so why not start before the clock strikes midnight?

Question 1: What is one thing you are proud of doing this past year?

Getting into shape had been a tremendous challenge. One that I didn’t expect to still be the main driver of my goal setting, but I am glad it is, as I feel a little better every day. That being said, despite my training not being as solid as I would have liked it to be, I am very proud of having run my first Half-Marathon, and I do plan on doing more!

18300887_10207806885644322_3072671553607858311_n.jpg

Question 2: What is one thing you’d like to improve upon or achieve in the new year?

Snowballing off the last one, I will still be working toward my personal goals, but one thing, in particular, I would like to improve upon this year is spending quality time with my friends and family. Although Toronto is not terribly far from where many of my friends live, it can be challenging to meet up given everyone’s busy schedules, but I’d like to put in a better effort at doing so in 2018.

IMG_20171218_103228_392.jpg

Question 3: What is one thing you appreciate about the person(s) you are ringing in the New Year with?

Well, I will no doubt be ringing in the New Year with Matt, and the list of things I appreciate about him is endless; however, since I can only choose one: I appreciate his undying support of everything I choose to do in my life, even if he doesn’t understand why I want to do them (haha.)

20171226_013740-01.jpeg

Question 4: What is one thing you’re looking forward to doing this year that you’ll be celebrating this time next year?

This time next year I will have many things to celebrate, but it will be the first time I will be ringing in the New Year as a married lady, and I think that will call for tons of bubbly!

coupes-de-champagne.jpg

So, what are your answers to the big 4 and what have you got in store for 2018?

Have a safe and happy New Years, and we’ll pick up again in after the dust has settled from the festivities 😉

Sort:  

One thing I am proud of this year is reading much more. It is so beneficial. Great blog post @thisisjaimee! Have a happy new year!

Happy new year @bitdollar ! One of my goals for 2018 is to do some more reading, myself!