Chronicles of Ayia Napa: Just the First Day of Many More (Part I)

in #blog6 years ago

Today I walked 33873 steps. And, honestly, that was the most casual day you can relive in Ayia Napa. I was expecting to reach at least 40000.

Technology is remarkable these days. I never had this ability to check my every movement. Last year it bothered me too much because I was always both surprised and curious how much active I can actually be. And that's because I never did what I do now. I never thought I would, to be honest. But it happened and now I came back to Cyprus for the second season in this wildest and craziest dot on the continent of Europe.

What I am is a waiter in the most popular party bar of Ayia Napa called Senior Frogs. Most of you probably never heard of it, or confuse it with mexican version of it which is completely not related to each other. But if you actually know the place, you're probably giggling right now.

Just so you know, things happen here. But then responsible persons deal with these things every single day, year after year, and they keep on learning to comprehend every single detail that appears in a crown of thousand very thristy prople. That is what I do.

This reminds me of a friend of mine, and a colleague, who said that he feels like in 7 years he lived at least five lives. Like he have seen it all and met everybody there is to meet. Eventually, even that kind of life can eventually lead to boredom.

I can understand it, because I too remember the boring days, but during the slow winter when none of the bars work, you inevitably feel nostalgic about all those moments you thought you were bored. Then you realise that your glory days are behind and they were definitely very exciting compared to how you spend your days now (as in doing nothing). But here I am, here again. Completely spontaneous and unplanned, just like the first year.

But now it's different. Now my better half is beside me. Although it couldn't be more complicated, I'm happy she's with me in this hell hole, even if she says she doesn't like it very much, but I think she's just not used to it. I noticed that she smiles more, even though she doesn't realize it. Maybe, just maybe she will find a way to be happy here. All in due time, I guess. Anyway, it can't be worse than our week long attempt to settle in another city called Paphos.

sf.jpg

Never again, but that's a story for another time.

Today was my first day of work, but it was completely different from my first day a year ago, in the same bar. Today I knew what I was doing, every single moment was a smooth flow, a hot knife cutting through hot butter. But the most important thing that I was working with people I know, and I know ALL of them. By now they are my brothers. I own them for each moment we went through together. They are the people I lay on and trust every day and I feel more than comfortable around them. Even though I never actually had a choice not to be.

Alright, sometimes they are a**holes, and sometimes we fight and scream at each other a lot, but in the end we always stand together. If one of us fails, we all fail. If we win, we win together.

We are a team. A crazy, crazy f*cking team.

But that is, also, a story for another time.


This is the introduction of a series of memoirs about eventful life of Ayia Napa and its people, expected to become a handheld, fully edited and nicely printed book one day.