Perception

in #blog3 years ago

Doing the right thing for the right things sake. I truly believe people make an effort to do the right thing but sometimes it just doesn't matter, it's impossible no matter how hard you try as far as onlookers can tell. Take recycling for an example, this trash can is encouraging you to do the right thing and most people will although it really doesn't matter.

trash 1.jpg

Go ahead and do the right thing. Save the planet.

trash 2.jpg

You observe me tossing my plastic bottle in the "trash" side and think to yourself that I don't care about the planet enough to just throw it in the "recycling" side. Yes, you should mind your own business or at least realize that perception is everything, and yours is skewed.

trash 3.jpg

That's right, I was never given the opportunity to do the right thing unless I want to carry my plastic bottle home and recycle it like a good little tree hugger, and that's exactly what I did.

End of story

red line VL (1).png

Discord

Sort:  

This seems to be the way it's done now all too often. It all just goes to the landfill. That pretty much negates the point of recycling.

It certainly negates the point of having those trash/recycle cans all around Costco

Another thing that angers me about plastic recycling is the little numbers.

image.png

They give you a sense of hope ... but when you dig into it. Basically, no countries can recycle 4, 6 or 7 - so they go straight to the landfill. To hide that fact, there are quite a few locations that will allow you to return them... but they simply throw them in the trash.

The plastic lobbyists did a good job ensuring that all plastics get a standardized label - It makes people feel good.

I agree, this seems more like a campaign to make every feel good rather than doing the right thing by our planet. Lobbyist are the worst.

Similar to unions, I'm sure that there was a time and a place for lobbyist's, but I don't think either belong in this decade or beyond..

I agree. Unions are good until they aren't and by that time they are too big and hold all the power. Same with lobbyist, they are running the show.