Crowdfunding Does Not Work Without a Crowd

in #blog6 years ago

  Crowdfunding never works without a crowd. Most people will not contribute even if they want to unless they see that it is a cause that enough people have already contributed to. I am beginning to think any crowdfunding project requires some sort of seed money to appear as if people care. 

  I have seen some incredibly important projects go completely unfunded where lives were at stake. I have seen projects that made absolutely no sense at all reach 10x their funding goal. There is much in this world that does not make any sense to me.  I saw a project once where and individual who lived alone and had blown his own house up with a meth lab got something like ten thousand for repairs.  I saw a now famous project where someone got over fifty thousand dollars for potato salad.

  Then there is my family and I after nearly a week trying to fund a simple move after accepting the fact that I will lose my home. A simple $2500 project that has received about $60 in outside funding.  While I am grateful for the help, I am also a bit astounded by the complete and total lack of interest from the community at large.  From my point of view it is like a slap in the face after going through all of the utter nonsense I have gone through over these last few months.  While I am still hopeful I am also feeling kind of there is a serious disconnect between people. Everyday we are inundated with all of these fake things we are supposed to care about. Some politician said something, somebody in hollywood has an opinion, a tv show got cancelled, and the list goes on and on.  When someone is either homeless or facing homelessness the proverbial cupboard of fucks given is nearly empty.  Of course, because it doesn't affect you directly, but that talking head said something and people lose their minds about it.  Somebody makes a video on some subject and ten million people talk about it.  While I sit here having done everything I could possibly think of to fix this situation and only 2 people gave enough of a crap to try to help.  This is a prime example of something very wrong in the world today. In a completely backwards fashion humans care about things that do not matter and do not care about things that do matter. Why should you care about my personal situation? The answer is simple, because I could be You.  If you were me you too would want someone to care. You would want to feel like you mattered.  I hope and pray you never have to walk even one step in my shoes. It is not fun and I would wish this on absolutely nobody.  Nobody should have to continually fight with a municipality, nobody should be forced to agree to the terms of a lease simply because they cannot afford to be someplace else. Nobody should have to live like that. Not one person should have to feel like they do not matter. 

Sort:  

Come on peaple can you atleast upvote this post and help these peaple out. They just need some money to move as it is they are going to lose thete home. It does not even cost you to upvote what if you end up in the same position would you like some help?