Magical Phone Calls

in #blog6 years ago

  So I just got off the phone with the fine folks at uhaul. The person on the other end informs me that they can drop 10% off if I reserve the truck and trailer right now. I said I am not even halfway to the price of the rental and after I get off the phone I think to myself, if you can just arbitrarily drop two hundred bucks off the price why are you charging so much in the first place?

  I also had looked into just getting a container like a pod or something similar and they want twice as much at the very least for the privilege of making me wait a week or more to receive my stuff.  There have been exactly 2 people who have donated to my moving project. What a lonely number is two. I am grateful to them but we cannot do this alone. By we I mean myself, my lady, and these 2 wonderful people who have thrown this old dog a bone. I know there are people out there who can. I also know that I cannot convince them, they either will or they won't.  As much as it would help me in putting my life back together and no matter how badly I need this help.  If I was a dog that had been beaten with a baseball bat I would have 187,000 people advocating for me. Since I am just a guy trying to leave this alien planet known as North Dakota most people take the words on this page with a grain of salt and go on about their lives.  As sad as this world has become if a majority of these "followers" of mine would at least pass this message along perhaps it would get in front of someone who was not only in a position to help but was also willing at the same time.

  If one were to do a little math $13.50 from each of the following would result in full funding of this project and save a family from homelessness.  That is basically the cost of a passable meal in most places but in this world everyone thinks that if they help someone, that someone might not actually need help. At the same time though they will go to a bar and spend that on a couple of drinks, go to a restaurant and spend that on their portion of a meal. They fail to realize that there is great power in people getting together for something.  Time is quite short for this guy and my desperation may be offensive. For that I apologize but I have no choice. I have to do whatever I can to make this move a reality while I still have a roof and internet. At this moment you folks have the power and I do not. I can only write and hope. Soon I will not be able to write and hope will be lost. I will be among the masses of forgotten people merely existing, surviving by any means necessary.  It will be a shame to add to that number another family lost and forgotten. They are only mentioned in passing with phrases like "someone should do something" while they sip on their overpriced latte or cappuccino. While they think about buying a new pair of "aged" jeans or some new shoes that cost hundreds of dollars.  Someone CAN do something, that someone could be you and there is no better time than now.