You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mulling over my blog decentralising strategies

in #blogging6 years ago

Just wondering, you can publishing to both external (for discovery) and your own blog, right? Or do you think Google will penalize you for double exposure of the same content?

Sort:  

They absolutely will algorithmically flag my duplicated content. I experienced it when I did my niche blogging and reposting the same article on the article submission sites. It's my biggest gripe with posting in Steemit vs my personal blog, specifically because I can't control the rel="canonical" meta tag in Steemit.
As much as I appreciate the readership in Steemit, I still want to control my authorship and content by claiming WebGrrrl.net to be the canonical source of my post.
And no matter what Google say about canonical not being that important in search crawls, other SERP experts have time and again claimed and proved otherwise.