Killer Fungi From Outer Space! Cold Storage by David Koepp - Book Review #45

in #book4 years ago

PicsArt_02-13-05.45.27.jpg
Many thanks to Jonathan Ball Publishers for sending me a review copy!

* SPOILER ALERT * SPOILER ALERT * SPOILER ALERT *

When I was a younger man, I thoroughly enjoyed horror books and movies - I even devoured them... but, as I grew older and more paranoid, that has changed; it is now quite the opposite.

These things usually give me nightmares, now, so I stay very far away, indeed!

I do however enjoy the milder, less gory kind of horror, so I do read them...occasionally.

But when I got this book, and I read the blurb right at the top, I tell you, I kind of freaked out a little; so I read the full synopsis and was a little relieved.

Don't make a sound. Don't get too close. DON'T LET IT OUT.

If all David Koepp's books are written like one, then I've just become a fan of him!

Skylab exploded and fell to earth in 1979 bringing with it a highly mutable, extremely deadly fungus, known as Cordyceps Novus. And having landed in the Australian outback, hot and arid, serves as the perfect breeding ground for the fungus allowing it to thrive.

But there is more to this fungus than meets the eye, which is what makes it super deadly.

In 1989 bioterror operative Roberto Diaz, and his partner, Trini Romano, were sent to investigate; they managed to isolate the fungus and bury it deep down under a mountain inside a military repository, where it is presumed contained and forgotten. Until 30 years later...

GoodReads | Amazon

Even though this book has been "infected with wicked humour" it is still creepy enough to keep my paranoia on a serious loop about evolving, flesh-eating, mind-controlling fungi that wants to take over the world - because all it really wants is to grow and proliferate like any living being.

This book was thoroughly enjoyable and I can definitely see this as a movie; I may never eat mushrooms again, but that's just my paranoia talking...

Highly recommended for fans Michael Crichton, those who love SciFi and anyone who wants to be creeped out a little.

4-stars.jpg

Follow me :-
Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/mr.pink.ink/
Blog : https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuumD6wq7NSNfDwu03mxUNw/featured

Member : @teamsouthafrica #teamsouthafrica
Member : @steemsouthafrica #steemsa

Sort:  

Nice review! Thanks for sharing :)

Thank you for reading ;)