My Top Ten Of 2019 - #PinkReads

in #book4 years ago

PicsArt_01-02-12.48.57.jpg

As we say goodbye to not only this year but also this decade, now is the time most people reflect on their actions during the past year and resolve to do better, be better in the New Year; because a New Year also brings new opportunities.

But since I'm not the kind of guy make resolutions (mainly because I've forgotten them like 2 weeks later) I am, however, a man prone to reflection, a lot...

2019 was full of new experiences and friendships, of making hard decisions, of learning that self-care is vital, of loss and of achievement; but, most importantly, 2019 was filled with beautiful, glorious books!!!

Of the 82 books I've read (I know! Can you believe?) I'd like to share with you the 10 books that have stood out the most for me this year.

Small Spaces by Sarah Epstein

What can I say about Small Spaces? It blew me away!

I really enjoyed this book, filled with twists and turns, relatable characters and edge of your seat suspense, Sarah Epstein spins a web of clever little deceits and psychological fears into one roller coaster of a read!

Well written and evenly paced, character growth en pointe and dialogue that is relevant and relatable and on par with teenagers of today.

Looking forward to more of Epstein's work!

PicsArt_01-17-11.52.50.jpg

Rating: 5/5

This Savage Song by V E Schwab

My first experience of V. E. Schwab's writing definitely did not disappoint! I was hooked from the get-go!

Fantastic world, incredible characters, and writing that you can just devour, this book is sure to please. I absolutely, positively adore August and I finally understand what a cinnamon roll is and why it is applied to him.

Highly recommended!

PicsArt_04-06-01.13.28.jpg

Rating: 5/5

Red Sister by Mark Lawrence

This was my first book from Mark Lawrence and... mind blown!! Now I want to get all of his books!! I'm completely itching to read Grey Sister now, but I have to wait until Holy Sister is also in my possession before I will read it...

Fantasy at it's best! Fantastic world, incredibly well-written characters and not a single boring moment!!

PicsArt_04-09-02.40.25.jpg

Rating: 5/5

The Novice by Taran Matharu

So far 2019 is turning into a year of discovery for me, as far as new authors go; Taran Matharu certainly didn't disappoint in his first book of the Summoner series.

I love how his writing is uncomplicated and clear; I love the world that he created and the magic system; and I love the characters, their diversity, and interaction.

This is shaping up to be another epic series and I cannot wait to see what happens next!

2019-03-10 06.34.55 1.jpg

Rating: 4/5

The Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Wow! Just wow!!!

Find my full review here: https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/2019/03/15/pinkreads-book-review-024-the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-by-stephen-chbosky/

2019-02-15 02.03.44 1.jpg

Rating: 5/5

Circe by Madeline Miller

Gloriously mesmerizing, this story will suck you right in and then spit you out all wrung dry!

Madeline Miller is a genius and this book exceeded my expectations and more! I cannot wait until I get my hands on Song Of Achilles!

Highly recommended!!

PicsArt_04-09-02.10.16.jpg

Rating: 5/5

Spellslinger by Sebastien de Castell

Incredible!!! I absolutely devoured this book and my fingers are itching to grab book 2!! Witty and clever, Spellslinger will not disappoint!!!

2019-03-10 06.34.54 1.jpg

Rating: 4/5

Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee

Where do I even begin to describe how much I adored this book? I mean, seriously, what's there not to love?

Kathryn Ormsbee covers a variety of issues in this lovely young adult contemporary, from YouTube fame to unexpected pregnancy and Buddist philosophy; from asexuality, bisexuality to a M/M romance; from sibling rivalry, unconventional families and Russian Literature to best friends and romance.

The characters are exquisitely crafted and have taken up residence in my heart; the book is beautifully written and well structured, in a style that just flows; evenly paced, well thought out - easily a book you could read in a day.

Also, this book is categorized as "own-voice" since the author identifies as demisexual.

PicsArt_10-29-04.51.18.jpg

Rating: 4/5

A Study Of Ash And Smoke by Yolandie Horak

Epic fantasy at it's best! This story will blow you away!

Extensive world, beautifully written, amazing characters; if you love fantasy, you're going to love this book!

Find my full review here: https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/2019/07/23/pinkreads-book-review-030-a-study-of-ash-and-smoke-by-yolandi-horak/

2019-07-20 04.27.19 1.jpg

Rating: 5/5

Daisy Jones And The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

This was just pure genius!! Watch out for my full review coming soon!

Rating: 5/5

Which books made your favourites list this year? What are you looking forward to reading next year? Let me know in the comments below.

Here's to ALL THE BOOKS in 2020!

Happy New Year

Follow me :-
Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/mr.pink.ink/
Blog : https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuumD6wq7NSNfDwu03mxUNw/featured

Member : @teamsouthafrica #teamsouthafrica
Member : @steemsouthafrica #steemsa

Sort:  

This post was curated by @steemsouthafrica
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN US ON DISCORD (South Africans Only)
JOIN US ON TWITTER
JOIN US ON FACEBOOK

Proudly associated with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN THE POWER HOUSE CREATIVES HERE