[Habits][Day 5] Another Day, Another Pay, Another Read.

in #books6 years ago



"We are aware of our own defenselessness, finitude, and mortality." - Jordan Peterson

This is a lot more religion than I am used to.


Curious about the heading? Don't worry, I'm scratching my head too. 

It's bad to leave your habits to be done later. When you're tired, you resist, you don't want to do it.

The more you think about it, the more it hurts.

The zombies in your brain don't want you to get out of bed and make sense of the words on the page.

Hell, the zombies in my brain are scratching their heads over the phrasing and placement of my words.

Is this even comprehensible?

To the next stage, my dear readers.

Stats 

Habit: Reading

Date: 09/02/2018

Currently Reading: 12 Rules for Life: An Antidote to Chaos

Previously Read: N/A

Pages Read Today (Minimum 10): 13

The Book Of The Day

source

Jordan Peterson’s ‘12 Rules for Life: An Antidote to Chaos’!

Not done with chapter 2 just yet! I've skipped ahead and I can confirm that I'll be finishing it by tomorrow.

I need to pick up the pace.

But these 12 pages had a lot of content to discuss, even if that doesn't exactly translate to a lengthy post on my end!

To preface this - I used to be interested in religion one year at primary school for what reason I cannot recall, but ever since then, there has been no effort or energy on my part to even think about it. 

I don't have any particular opinion about it except that it exists and I don't mind what view a person has about it. 

However, with a more conscious mind that continues to grow every day (thanks, evolution!), I can have an appreciation for what the stories provoke and can do to people.

So let's continue on, shall we?

Rule 2: Treat Yourself Like Someone You Are Responsible For Helping 

Jacob Jordaens

I must confess, it would be ignorant of me to not think that the way I interpret the book is anything but 'preachy'. 

Like many other self-help books, there's a certain tone that one adapts. Why is it like that? Why am I so cynical and disapproving to all of the glory that the words in this book hold? 

Because I'm not a very optimistic person. I try to remain unbiased, but the cracks just slip through the wall.

...

Much like the serpent in the story of Adam and Eve, who brought consciousness to the humans and led them down a path of suffering and change. 

Hah - that was a smooth transition!

Through the interpretation of Adam and Eve, Peterson answers the question as to why we are quick to drop everything in our hands to help our sick pets.

If I had one word to describe it, it'd be 'innocence'.

Animals aren't at the level that humans operate at. They don't have the feelings of contempt that we hold for ourselves.

We know ourselves best, so why should we treat ourselves as kindly as you would to others?

It's something that I struggle with. It's hard to treat myself because I'm jaded.

I know I want the best for myself, I just can't push myself into that position.

Because there will always be someone out there that's more deserving.

...Continuing on!

Peterson's ideas prove to be so strong because they can connect with other stories. When you think about it, it seems logical and correct.

In this case, it was bringing Taoism back in to reinforce the idea of Chaos and Order, where the serpent is the black dot in the yin side of the yin/yang symbol. 

In a paradise which is full of order, it was only a matter of time before chaos struck everything down.

Because you can't have one without the other.

"Question for parents: do you want to make your children safe, or strong?"

From what was stated in the interpretation of the serpent, you can then connect the concept of helicopter parents to total Order.

As stated -

"It is far better to render Beings in your care competent than to protect them."

And imagine if the serpent never existed, if Eve never ate the forbidden fruit -

"How could the nature of man ever reach its full potential without challenge and danger? How dull and contemptible would we become if there was no longer reason to pay attention?"

An interesting tidbit in the book is worth highlighting -

"Dr. Lynn Isbell, professor of anthropology and animal behaviour at the University of California, has suggested that the stunningly acute vision almost uniquely possessed by human beings was an adaption forced on us tens of millions of years ago by the necessity of detecting and avoiding the terrible danger of snakes, with whom our ancestors co-evolved."

Seemed like enough to get the point across


"But only you know the full range of your [...] inadequacies. No one is more familiar than you with all the ways your mind and body are flawed. No one has more reason to hold you in contempt, to see you as pathetic--"

Do you generally have those feelings of disdain for yourself?

It's not something you want to get used to, especially if they come frequently and often. 

It doesn't sound like you are coming to terms with yourself.

It's like having a whole apple of disdain - you should bring it down to the core and carry only that.

The extra baggage isn't worth it or it's something you can work on for the betterment of yourself.  

But anyway,

Thanks for joining this ride! I hope you’ve enjoyed it thus far. 

Tell me what you think of the book at its current stage! What are your thoughts on the quotes given and questions raised?

And don’t forget to follow if you’d like to see more updates and thoughts from me,

C8!

Feel free to check out my last post! Click here!