New Years Resolution

in #books6 years ago (edited)

Lately, I've been having some trouble unwinding after work and finding all I have been doing is working and sleeping.

So I made it my New Years Resolution to relax more. One thing that helps me relax is reading. It's like an escape from my own life into another. So I am planning to read as many books as I can this year. I have already finished two novels, and while not as much substance as the Lord of the Rings books, (I can never get through all that singing!) they have been the perfect distraction.

Two fantastic quotes that sum up how I feel about reading:

“That moment when you finish a book, look around, and realize that everyone is just carrying on with their lives as though you didn't just experience emotional trauma at the hands of a paperback.”
― Jamie Craig

"Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are."
–Mason Cooley

There was another one about travelling the world from the comfort of your armchair that I have no idea who originally said, but it is still so fitting.

The first book I read was called "After You" by Jojo Moyes . It is the sequel to the book and now a movie on Netflix starring Emilia Clarke and Sam Claflin. After You is about how Louisa Clarke moves on and learns to live after her association with Will Traynor tears her life apart. This is only the second book in the trilogy, so hopefully later on in the year I will buy the third installment and will be able to write about that one too.
I fell in love with the movie, discovered it was an adaptation, and fell in love all over again with the books.
If this book sounds like something you would like to read, you can get it here: https://www.amazon.com/After-You-Novel-Jojo-Moyes/dp/0143131397/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1515577187&sr=1-1&keywords=after+you

The other book I read was called "Throne of Glass" written my Sarah J Maas. It is the first book in a series that @dblstr originally bought for me. I own the first 6 books, but word has it there are 16 books in this fantasy series.
Throne of Glass is the tale of Celaena Sardothien, an assassin trying to win back her freedom in a series of deadly tests.
You can get this book here: https://www.amazon.com/Throne-Glass-Sarah-J-Maas/dp/1619630346/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1515577086&sr=8-1&keywords=throne+of+glass

I am starting on the second of the series tonight so if you want to read more about them, follow me and keep watching this space!

Has anyone read any good books lately? I'd love to hear some great recommendations.

you can check out my post of the second book in the series here: https://steemit.com/books/@missboop/crown-of-midnight

Sort:  

Hi @missboop :)
I just watched the film “Me before you” the other day might have to read the second book to continue with Louisa’s story.
Currently I am reading “Before I go to sleep” by S. J. Watson which is a mystery thriller. Quite an interesting book so far!

Thanks for the recommendation, I’ll add it to my list of books to read!

I'm not a big book reader but this sounds like a great plan to relax after a long day :) I normally prefer the newspaper or sports magazines myself!

As @dblstr can tell you, I’m not exactly big on sports :) and I find with newspapers, the articles can only have certain details in them so they always leave me wanting more