What I'm Reading Right Now

in #books5 years ago

American Gods by Neil Gaiman
This is one of my favorite books. It should come as no surprise that I am totally obsessed with folklore, especially that of America. This fantastically written novel blends together gods and fables of the Old World with the new gods we have put in place, like television and technology, in a harrowing tale of adventure and the fate of not just humanity, but the very gods that govern it. This book is truly a masterpiece, and like many beloved books, I treat it like comfort food for the soul in cold weather or illness. Experiencing a mixture of both, I'm rereading this book, and so glad I am.
If reading is not your thing, Starz has one season of a show based off of this book, with another season due in April.

The Weekly Alibi
Of course, this is always on my reading list. The Alibi is Albuquerque's alt-paper. And while over the years, it admittedly has dropped in quality (and quantity; the pages have been rather scant lately) with its blatant political plugs and far too much advertising, I can't help myself. The colorful, artistic covers are irresistible to me. The Alibi gives a weekly calendar of all the art/music/ect. events happening in my city, and as much crap as they might give Albuquerque, you can tell the Alibi loves this strange city as much as I do.

Sort:  

Sounds like an interesting book. I'm curious about the "new gods" I.e. tv and technology. I often have a hard time reading fantasy because they typically have a lot of characters to follow. That doesn't sound like that type of fantasy book though. The alt newspaper sounds interesting.

Posted using Partiko Android

May I make the suggestion of reading CS Friedman's work? The adult, not YA. I find her work to be very descriptive and rich. It's wildly different than Gaiman, but rather different all the same.

Please always make readings suggestions! I will definitely check her out, many thanks

They are out of print, but I would also suggest David Gerrold's War Against the Chtorr series. The series is unlikely to be finished - David is now 72 - but the books are really, really thought provoking. The 3rd book is..traumatizing on many levels, but, again, very thought provoking.

Gerold is famous for, when as a young man, he wrote the famous original series Star Trek episode entitled "The Trouble with Tribbles."

That said, the War Against the Chtorr, is not a happy tail. It's dark, really dark, but you might call it a dark purple. Or crimson.

Read the books and you'll understand why.

Again, for that third book, keep something that keeps you mellow nearby. And, at least for me, I had to take sips of that book's prose the first time. Even now...oy.