Help!! I need Books!!

in #books7 years ago (edited)

I was inspired by @strangerarray's post about the 100 books one must read, but I feel there are so many, I can't possibly take them all on at the same time. I am currently reading Lord of the Flies, which has turned out to be one of my all time favourite books. I am trying to make a list of books I should read, and I would love some help.

My favourite books of all time are these four:

  1. Lord of the Flies
  2. The Catcher in the Rye
  3. The Wave
  4. To Kill a Mockingbird

Already on my list of books to read are these:

  • The Bible
  • Not the Bible
  • Animal Farm
  • 1984
  • The Great Gatsby
  • Brave New World

Now, I don't expect anyone to be interested, but I would really appreciate if y'all could recommend books for me.

Can't wait to hear your suggestions!

Sort:  

It sounds like we have similar tastes in books, so here are some more upbeat options: - "Journey to Ixtlan" Carlos Castaneda - "The Art of Happiness" Dalai Lama - "Secret of the Ages" -Robert Collier
Personally, I find a book much easier to finish if I feel good reading it ;)

Thanks, I'll check those out!

"The Idiot" by Fyodor Dostoyevsky "Night" by Elie Wiesel "The Master and Margarita" by Mikhail Bulgakov, "Briefing for a Descent into Hell" by Doris Lessing, "Slaughterhouse Five" by Kurt Vonnegut and "The Magus" by John Fowles, are a few that really moved me in the past.

Thanks, I'll look into those! I've tried to read Dostoyevsky's Crime and Punishment but it was a bit slow moving for my tastes, but maybe I'd like The Idiot better.

I never made it through Crime and Punishment; The Idiot grabbed me from the beginning. I remember finding the mc appealing; it has been a few years so I forgot why.

The translation might have had something to do with it. With some classic foreign language novels there is more than one, so I sometimes read first the few pages of each one before I choose which version I will go with; some flow better than others. I swear sometimes the translation can be the difference between enjoying a novel and not.

That's probably very true. The only translated work I've read is the Odyssey, which I found to be quite boring, but it was probably the translation. I'll definitely give The Idiot a try!