Boulder Sunday Challenge

#bouldersunday created by @shasta

Joshua Tree National Park is an American national park east of Los Angeles, in southeastern California. Seeing the Joshua Trees was something I had looked forward to for much of my life! And I was thrilled to finally get to be in a part of the world where they grew.

image

image

But it was the rocks and boulders within the park that truly astonished me. The park's oldest rocks, Pinto gneiss among them, are 1.7 billion years old.

image

image

imageSkull Rock

image

image

Joshua Tree National Park covers 800,000 acres and is one of the world’s most incredible desert treasures.

image

image

image


.

Rock On

#fridaysrock by @nat-expressions

#rockhound & #rockhounds by @bitfiend

#mountainmonday by @keithboone

#mineralmondays by @rt395

#bouldersunday by @shasta

Shadow Photo Contest Round 44- Smoke Shadows



Posted with eSteem

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobileiphone& PCcomputer app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobileiphone
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PCcomputer
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Awesome tree, awesome boulders, definitely awesome skull boulder,
and awesome sunset! Thanks for sharing!


#rockhound is the tag for #rockhounds! Manually curated by @rockhounds / @bitfiend! Share your rocks!

beautiful plants

Spectacular photography. I camped at Joshua Tree when I was a Boy Scout. I’ve got to get back there.

Thank you! I was quite thrilled that I finally got to go there. I'll bet it was really fun to be there when you were a kid! You were there before it became a National Park.

I was gonna say, “I’m not that old,” but I guess I was :-D

You are not old at all! It just didn't become a park until in the 90s sometime.

You’re correct. About the National Park designation, that is. I found that surprising.

I have a vague memory of that happening. The park had always been on my radar screen as a place that I really hoped I'd be able to visit someday so I must have been paying attention when they mentioned the name of the park.

I have never seen rocks like that. Very cool! Thank you for sharing these. What a beautiful park!!

Aren't they cool! It really is a great Park and I am so thrilled that I actually got to visit there. I love the rocks and also thought it was really cool that you could stand and look down into the valley and actually see the San Andreas Fault!

I've never been there, but would love to go some day.

Pemotretan yang luar biasa

Thanks so much! I'm glad you like it!

Wooww those trees are amazing! Would love to see them myself too.
The last shot is super cool :)

The Mojave desert is such an interesting place. You would love all the cactus! We turned the car to use the headlights to illuminate the tree in that last photo.

It turned our really nice :)

Great photos. I like the skull rock :) my youngest son visited Joshua Tree this spring. He loved it.

We were staying in Bullhead City Arizona and just drove down to the park for the day, so we didn't get to spend nearly enough time there. But it worked out well since I was using a cane to get around and most of my exploring and picture taking was done through the window of the truck anyway. We had fun and made lots of good memories!

Wow ... this Joshua tree is very beautiful, only this time I saw it.

Does this tree only exist in America @melinda010100 ?

They do only grow in the southwestern part of the United States in the Mojave Desert. I spent a month down in that area and really enjoyed seeing all the different plants that grow there.

The tree is very unique, you are really very lucky to be able to enjoy a variety of rare trees.
🙂

The Mohave Desert is a 2000 mile drive from where I live, so it was a treat for me to get to see these.

Wow what a awesome bunch of big boulders!
That skull rock is very striking and the elephant.
I wonder if it's been enhanced in the past or all natural.
Dang those Joshua trees make nice shadows!
This looks like a place I'd love to visit, what a great
view and sunset!
Thank you for showing us this fantastic rock place
for #bouldersunday@melinda010100!
Feel free to put your photo and link on the
current #bouldersunday post :-)

I suspect it is all natural as these boulders cover miles of desert. I wish I would have been into taking shadow pictures when I was there, I bet I could have found a bunch of really cool ones! Thanks for resteeming!

Your pics bring back many memories of hiking in and climbing on those large boulders!

That must have been amazing! I was walking using a cane when I was there, and wishing that I was young enough to climb around and hike!

wow! look at those rocks! well look at those trees too! amazing, never saw a tree like that, are those like pine needles on those trees?

I think they are called needles, but they're much coarser than pine trees have. They remind me more of a leaf on a yucca plant. Really spiky.

howdy again Melinda.....well those were some wild looking trees, I thought they were just big cacti at first. How tall are they approximately?

They can grow approximately 20 feet tall and live over 500 years. I read that there was one that grew 80 feet tall and was 1000 years old.

whaaaat??? holy moly! lol. I had no idea, that's amazing. Are they only found in California?

The Mojave Desert, so in California Utah Nevada and Arizona, I think. I believe that's the only place on Earth that they grow.

rats. I was thinking how cool one or two of those would look at our place!

I miss Joshua trees, they are such sweet plants. Lovingt the last photo the most.

Thanks! Did you live in the southwest?

I used to live in Southern California, and been through Nevada so I remember those great spiny trees.