Every dog has its day (this is about bowling)

in #bowling3 years ago

So as you know I lost the bowling championship to another person a few weeks ago and just as I suspected the entire bowling process is a lot more fun for me since I am the commissioner and also have to coordinate everything associated with the league. It's only 25-30 people per time but you'd be surprised how long it can take to get just that number of people organized, collect fees from them, and get them all in their lanes.

Once it all begins I can simply focus on enjoying my own game instead of being concerned about every single time I roll the ball perhaps being the one roll that ruins my chances of remaining champion. So that was one mission accomplished I suppose.

That isn't really what I want to talk about today though, I would rather talk about a guy who is in our league that normally doesn't bowl terribly well yet he turns up week in and week out and has never missed a single gathering except for the one time that he was in the hospital.

We call him Dangerous Dave and that is meant ironically because he is likely the least dangerous person that you'll ever meet and is also the smallest man in the DUMBO association.


169639628_743977566279722_5246029620129937342_n.jpg
he's in there somewhere

On a normal day Dangerous would bowl so many gutterballs that his score card looks like Morse code and while he doesn't get pissed off about it, he isn't pleased and you can tell. But the other day Dangerous bowled the best game of his entire time with DUMBO and he says it was also the best game of his life as well.


167091317_746588216016816_5726738047363427472_n.jpg

Starting the game off with 3 consecutive spares, all with pretty great follow up rolls to get that score up there is a real rarity for Danger, for the most part we can expect him to barely get any marks at all and he is pleased when he breaks 100. He has NEVER broken 100 in the 8th frame before.

I couldn't take a photo beyond that one because i was on a different lane and by the time I returned the 10th frame had already been rolled and for some reason that I do not understand, the bowling alley removes all of the scares except the final 2 frames whenever the last ball is rolled. We do know that he ended with a score of 147, which I think is a pretty great score for anyone and for Dangerous, it was momentous.

Even though there were games going on with higher scores than this, all eyes were on the Dangerous One because we all like the guy, and he just never really does all that well. Is he getting better? I would say almost certainly not because he has been coming with us every single week for 5 months. I just think that everyone gets one of those games every now and then where they are simply in the zone and nothing can take them out of it. That was Dangerous' situation last Thursday and with any luck, maybe he can bring some of that magic into this week's event.

Sort:  

Even a blind dog finds a bone sometimes!

You might actually have to get concerned due to his rapid improvement if it continues. Maybe he had gotten over a long plateau, mastered some basics and is going to improve himself into contention! Dangerous indeed!

When that happens, just fill him fulla beer.

Good luck in recapturing the belt and some dog toys for your room mate!

That is awesome. 147 sounds about like what my average would be. That was when I was bowling regularly. Now it is probably even less I would guess. I feel like I have had those games as well where everything was just going right. I was still never able to break 200 though.

I am glad that have been able to find even more joy again from this. I know you enjoyed it before, but having that weight off your shoulders has to be awesome.

Hello @gooddream
I have bowled a few times. But I really enjoyed it. Dangerous, I hope this week will be good for him too. You don't always run with that luck, but he seems to be consistent, that's it.

Lol.. You know how I was telling you how much I stink at bowling.. This story reminded me of a time that some friends invited to bowl with them. We had never bowled together before.

For some reason, I was accidentally bowling strikes one after the other. I was just as surprised as everyone. They all just assumed I was bad ass at bowling. I was hamming it up a little.

Of course in round 2 I fell apart completely. They were like, Wtf haha

i had a friend in high school that for whatever reason just could not bowl worth a damn at all. We felt bad for him but he just couldn't manage to not roll a gutter ball on nearly every roll. However, he did still continue to come with us because he was a trooper and a good pal. One day he had a day like your friend Dangerous and we were cheering like our favorite team had just pulled off the upset victory of the year.

He would never again recapture that magic though and it was a one off. Hopefully for your friend, he is actually improving and it wasn't just a lucky day like it was for my friend because the very next time we went he was back to being gutter guy