Fearless Tooth Takedown: A Tale of Courage πŸ¦·πŸ§šπŸ»β€β™€οΈ

in #bravegirl β€’ 16 days ago

Aloha e ko'u mau hoa 😊 Back at it again with another blog!

Pink Yellow Cute Pastel Family Photo Collage.png

What is the most courageous thing you have ever done as a kid? Well, in this blog post, I will tell you the story of how my courageous little sister gained a victory over her first tooth extraction.

6064D44F-D000-40A2-A7DA-0D03E5B39FE2.jpeg

My sister is a 6-year-old. It's common for most kids this age to start losing their first set of teeth. It is been nearly 3 weeks since my sister's tooth has been loose. This is her first time experiencing this. She felt uneasy and unfamiliar with this.

We suggested she try the Filipino method of tooth extraction, using a thread to pull the loose tooth out. My sister did not like the idea and became scared of how it would go. Most of the baby teeth will come out on their own but in my sister's case her permanent teeth began to come in to replace the loosened tooth, so we had to have her tooth extracted by the dentist.

As a child, she imagined that getting her tooth pulled would be quite painful. So we encouraged her to be brave and assured her that it wouldn't be as painful as she thought. And then, she gathered her courage and decided to have her tooth pulled out.

Right away, I looked for a dental clinic around Bogo City on Facebook and arranged an appointment for the same day. Upon contacting one of the dental clinics in the area, they notified me that they had no availability for that day. So, I quickly searched for another option and contacted a different clinic.

0688B74E-FC32-4624-975F-A7182200E9DE.jpeg

D171A708-A6B9-4632-923B-EA92A3DA6415.jpeg

There I found out about the North-Town Dental Clinic, they are located in San Vicente St. Bogo City Cebu. We headed straight to the clinic. Upon arrival, my sister became excited because the clinic's color was her favorite -- PURPLE!! πŸ‡

6A52CADB-F4F3-4B69-8533-543C0B906833.jpeg

257AF62F-0B18-4017-A65D-C9A9E6658F05.jpeg

As we stepped into the clinic, the staff welcomed us and promptly came over to assist, this reflects positively on both the employee and the company. They instructed us to take off our shoes and wear their indoor slippers. We waited for our turn to be called by the dentist. On that day, three children came to the clinic with their parents.

9730228F-B919-4E78-B8D0-4788A0EA78CB.jpeg

The dentist called our names for our turn. I asked my mom to go in with my sister, but she declined and asked me instead. She is also nervous about my sister and unsure how to comfort her. As we entered, I could sense my sister's nervousness. She was uncertain about what are the extraction procedures.

I cheered her up and gave her a good luck kiss before she took her seat in the dentist's chair. My sister even asked the dentist if it was painful, and the dentist just assured her that it was just like the bite of an ant.πŸ˜… Additionally, the doctor shared words of encouragement to calm my sister's and make her feel comfortable.

5D7C55D7-CE6C-4068-89BD-843F6EA193BC.jpeg

85A5888E-8381-4329-8AFD-5C03E7DAAF52.jpeg

FC3E2D36-AE39-4144-815E-B3B29672FC1A.jpeg

1B27D5CE-44BC-42C5-B95E-3FD902B15347.jpeg

So the dentist began to examine her teeth and noted that my sister had no cavities or tooth decay. He asked whether my sister regularly brushes her teeth, to which she nodded in response. The dentist proceeded to apply toothpaste to the gum area and then gargle it with water. Afterward, he applied a local anesthetic to the surrounding area of the tooth, guaranteeing my sister's comfort by preventing any sensation of pain during the extraction.

BDBE3A0B-7A36-4004-AD0C-74C46AB916CB.jpeg

8A6DD1B6-C8A8-47AE-A733-FEF42AC77ACE.jpeg

Now came the most awaited moment---the TOOTH EXTRACTION!! I advised my sister to stay relaxed and take a deep breath for this part. In just a snap, the tooth came out from the gum socket. I couldn't contain my happiness.😍 I clapped my hands and praised my sister, Good job!!

Much to our surprise, the dentist discovered there were other loose teeth and advised us to have those removed as well. So, not only one but two teeth were extracted on the same day.

79127A5F-4C79-498F-BDEA-91715BF246DA.jpeg

The doctor was amazed by my sister's courage. Throughout the entire procedure, she didn't shed a tear and didn't show any fear. He remarked that it was uncommon to find a child of her age who wasn't afraid of getting her teeth extracted. 😍

The dentist advised my sister to get some ice cream as it helps soothe the gums and reduce swelling. We paid 700php. The tooth extraction for kids costs only 350 per tooth. After paying and receiving the dentist's prescription, we promptly left the clinic.

D61E6F93-D140-4E47-89A4-A4D971510193.jpeg

We stopped by a mall to get my sister an ice cream, following the doctor's instructions, and as a reward for her bravery. We ran some errands and then had our lunch.

3E05FFA3-3486-42C1-8DD7-672E4A8A3C29.jpeg

My sister is proudly showing off her smile, missing a few teeth, LOL! She insists she's still adorable even without them. THE MOST ADORABLE WITHOUT TEETH! πŸ˜…

Bravery isn't about lacking fear, but about confronting it directly. Embrace courage, as each brave step opens doors to fresh opportunities and personal revelation.

Let's talk in a comment section about the things you are brave about. πŸ˜‰

Mahalo nui loa for reading! 😍

Up to my next blog! Until then, Take care!😍

Sort: Β 

Up until now I'm scared to go to the dentist because I have a fear in needles, as a result, I was used to traditional Filipino tooth extraction😭

It's completely understandable to feel apprehensive about going to the dentist, especially if you have a fear of needles. We have similar concerns as well hehe It's interesting to hear about your experience with traditional Filipino tooth extraction.

Your younger sister Ma'am @ifyouseechen is so brave and she still looks cute and pretty even with missing tooth.

It's heartwarming to hear that you think so! Despite her missing tooth, she still exudes bravery and remains as cute and pretty as ever. 😍

Wow 😳, I have never experienced that, and I'm wondering what she wemt through, hope she didn't feel the pains later. I'm sure she won't be able to eat some things because of her missing teeth πŸ˜‚

Hopefully, she didn't experience too much discomfort afterward. As for eating, she might need to be a bit cautious, but I'm sure she'll adapt just fine! πŸ€—

wow, she's indeed a strong and brave girl
Kudos to her πŸ‘

Absolutely, she truly embodies strength and courage. 😊

I love going to the dentist rather than extracting my tooth in a natural way. I'm a fan of the dentist too. Thank you for sharing this information, it motivates me to choose north town dental clinic as my to go dental. ☺️ @ifyouseechen

It's great to hear that you prefer going to the dentist over traditional tooth extraction methods. Being a fan of dental care is fantastic! I'm glad the information about North Town Dental Clinic has motivated you to choose them for your dental needs. They sound like a great choice!

For me, it's less painful if an expert will do the extraction. 😁 Are they open everyday?? @ifyouseechen

Yes,if you're looking to schedule an appointment with them, reaching out via their Facebook page would be the best way to go.πŸ˜‰

Thank you for the information. ☺️@ifyouseechen

Such a courageous child. I'm planning to visit the dentist this summer for my child's tooth extraction. Thank you for sharing, I can share this to my RM.

Indeed, children can show remarkable courage in the face of dental procedures. It's wonderful to hear cher that you're planning to take your child to the dentist for a tooth extraction this summer. Sharing experiences like this with your RM can be beneficial for others who may be considering similar steps for their children's dental care. πŸ˜‰

Congratulations @ifyouseechen! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

Thank you so much @hivebuzz 😊

That's great @ifyouseechen! We're excited to see your commitment to Hive! Keep it up!

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

Brave little girl🌸🌸🌸 Good thing doc donald already renovated his clinic to provide more space for customers. I really love their services here as well!

I believe he recently established a new branch of his clinic on San Vicente St. I'm not sure if the other branches across the plaza are still operating.

It's always reassuring to know that such caring services are available. πŸ˜‰

The new branch near Jollibee Drive Thru is much more accessible especially from those who are travelling from farflung municipalities. Happy they did an expansion to provide better services to their patients.πŸ€—