Sourdough Baking - A spelt-wheat bread from a firm dough

in #bread4 years ago

Some of you might have seen the wet bread post I had made, and to have something to compare, I made a spelt-wheat bread with firmer dough. This time I had 62,5% water instead of the 75%+.

And this doesn't mean that it would be 62,5% or 75% water. That's just the flour:water -ratio, and the total amount of flour is always 100%. So if I have 1000 grams of flour and 600 grams of water, it'd be 60%. With 500 grams of flour, 300 grams of water would be 60% water, because 300 grams is 60% of 500 grams.

Simple.

But the recipe for this bread:
400 grams of sourdough starter
400 grams of spelt
400 grams of wheat (so it's 800 grams of flour in total)
600 grams of water
20 grams of salt
A little bit of olive oil, once again.

kiinteäleipä  1.jpg

See, this is my super strong and great sourdough starter. It's bubbly, it's smelling good and it's ready for action. Just like I am. Or I was, when I was a teenager. Now those days have gone and I no longer smell good.

kiinteäleipä  2.jpg

Water, sourdough starter and flours added to a single bowl.

I'm using my beautiful assistent to mix the dough, so I don't have to work at all. Too bad it's super noisy, so every time I bake, I need to wait for my family to leave.

kiinteäleipä  3.jpg

20 minutes of kneading with the machine in total.
13 minutes of kneading, then I added the salt and oil, 7 minutes of more kneading.

The flours can be different, sometimes more or less water is needed for the right consistency. Dry flours need more water, so occasionally I'll need to add a little bit of water to the dough. This time it wasn't needed, but it's good to know.

I left the dough to rest for 4 hours.

kiinteäleipä  4.jpg

And this is after the 4 hours. The dough has risen very well.

Some of you might have noticed, but I'm not using my DSLR for the photos this time. The camera was sadly unavailable, but I've used my super fancy phone to take the photos. 48 megapixels and all.

You can see that these look terrible compared to the photos from my real camera?

kiinteäleipä  5.jpg

Well after the rest, I cut the dough in half and squished them into nice, round breads. This dough is far firmer than the previous one, so I had far too much flour on the board I was working on.

Firm and nice, not soft and running.

kiinteäleipä  6.jpg

I managed to get two beautiful breads. The dough was slightly smaller than previous time, but still youc an see the difference in the form of the bread.

These stay true to their form. Warrior breads. Undefeatable!

So I let them rest for one hour in the room temperature and then put them to the fridge. +4 Celsius degrees and 16 hours this time, as I had to work and I baked the bread when I got back home.

kiinteäleipä  7.jpg

The breads had a nice rise and still they kept their form. They had spread a bit more than I had assumed, but they still looked real nice.

kiinteäleipä  8.jpg

A small cut, like with the previous soft squishy coastal monster swamp breads.

It's easier to cut the bread when you cut it directly after taking it out from the fridge. You should have the oven ready. I had used the oven for cooking just before baking the bread, so the oven was at 250 Celsius put I put it down to 200 Celsius.

When I put the bread in the oven, I sprayed a lot of water in the oven. This makes sure that the bread crust doesn't dry too fast and the bread can still expand a bit in the oven.

kiinteäleipä  9.jpg

Boom!

The bread was beautiful. You can see the difference, as the dough wasn't as wet so the result was clearly firmer. Both of the breads taste nice, but this has both flavor and the looks.

kiinteäleipä  10.jpg

Can you see this? It's beautiful.

If you want to taste it, lick your screen. I'm using the new FlavorMax™ technology to add bread flavor to the blockchain. If you're using an updated browser, like Chrome or Safari, you should be able to taste the bread through your PC, phone or other devices.

Now as this has been baked, I'll be putting baking posts back on hold. I'll get back when I have new ideas about baking and post them.

Sort:  

Hello @apsu, great loaves. Might be tasty just with butter ... :)

Now we have a breadbakers community thanks to @breadcentric. Check it out when you have time!
https://steempeak.com/c/hive-120505/created

Thanks, it was good with just butter! I'll check it out and hopefully I'll remember to post there the next time :)

Ooh that looks lovely! I've been experimenting with sourdough a bit off and on for a few years, but have yet to "perfect" my recipe. I'll have to give this a shot when I reactivate my starter next week.

I had been baking with regular yeast for a while before stepping into the world of sourdough. It did take a few mistakes (and total failures) during the period of two years, but now I don't want to bake with regular yeast anymore.

Hopefully you'll succeed with your bread :) Good luck and please let me know if you succeeded!

Mr. Bread, you definitely need breadbasket for rising the dough. Makes world of difference!

Well I have a few of those. Should I make still one post with a similat recipe but use a baskey for rising the dough?

Coule be interesting!

Definitely! 12h in basket makes wonders for dough:)

Have you ever baked the bread in a pot? Makes the crust just perfect !

I was using my baskets during the time when I wasn't at the stage I'm in now, and thought "Oh the baskets are only trouble".

I should give them another shot.

Also I've been baking with a pot a lot, my wife complains that the pot-bread (doesn't have any cannabis in it though) is too big, so I have been making less bread in a pot. I had been using a ceramic aluminium pot for the baking. Super useful for doughs which don't keep their form.
https://www.karkkainen.com/verkkokauppa/maku-4-l-alumiini-pata

You can make small breads in pot too, and it works with kettle too:) helps with crust and rising during baking:)

Damn! Ain't you sexy in the kitchen!

But honestly, I can't wait to get an oven to be able to be doing this. The more I think about a bread from the supermarket and one like this, the more I realise how much dirt I consume. Anyway soon enough ♡

Ps: I won't lick this screen but I would because you is cleeeeeean!

It took me a while to get my bread better than the supermarket bread is, but now my bread beats the typical supermarket bread 100-0. :)

Thanks!

I know it will take me a while to do it perfectly but I have you and Mrs. Trumpman to help with that. Yes?

Most welcome.

Tell me when you're about to get an oven, so I'll start to make more baking posts for beginners ;)

But you can always ask for help from me!

Of course! I will. I think the need to see myself cooking my own food is taking over :D

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here