Baking with fig yeast water / いちじくのイーストウォーターでパンを焼いてみました

in #breadbakers4 years ago

Due to the yeast shortage, @breadbakers is currently hosting a Natural Yeast Challenge. This is my entry to the challenge.

I used to make starter with flour and water. As I wanted to try something different, I decided to make my yeast water for the first time, about which I read about it recently on @breadcentric's website.

Making yeast water

But ....... my daughter and I ate up all the dates I had in kitchen 😱I had organic dried raisins but they were oil coated. Hmmm. Then I find dried figs that weren't oil coated. I wasn't sure it works but to make it until the deadline, I couldn't wait for the next shopping opportunity to buy date.

It has sugar so technically it's possible to make yeast water from dried fig. I put water, dried fig and pinch sugar in my boy friend's bike cycling bottle. I shook the bottle everyday for a week. My yeast water made bubbles like Federweißer. Federweißer is fermented freshly pressed grape juice according to Wikipedia.

EBCAED96-7732-462C-B0B4-5C096B9B3C16.png

I mixed the yeast water with flour 1:1. The container was too small ... I moved the starter to a bigger one. I let the starter rise overnight. It looked it bubbled enough so I started using it next day already.

8E2B7A94-3D59-4F8F-9081-29B4F90C3D45.png

Sourdough(?) bread with yeast water

I used the starter for two bread. The first attempt was to replace the sourdough starter with it. It work well. I noticed that it was a bit more active than my sourdough starter. The dough rose quicker and the coop on top opened nicely.

B3FEE81C-19ED-4ED1-96C6-E06AA8E98592.png

As you see in the following photo the bubbles are uneven ... I was too chicken to press the dough strongly while I was shaping it. Taste wise there wasn't much difference. I expected it smells and tastes fruitier 😅(Is it because I moved the starter to a bin formerly used for cucumber pickles ... ???)

55587904-6AB1-4038-9344-071B6CF6FD4A.png

Bagels with yeast water

The second attempt was to bake bread that I regularly bake using store bought yeast. I picked bagels as I thought I can hide my failure in case it doesn't rise much 😆

I replaced 75g flour and 75g water of my recipe with 150g of the starter. It took 4 hours for the first rise (regularly around 30 minutes). Still their size was slightly modest.

But I felt relieved after I saw the result. Not only they looked like bagels but also they were chewy and had sour-umami note from the starter!

BD4D03BB-5DCF-4D59-B20D-58B0C41A10FB.png

I think I can do the same for other bread I bake with store bought yeast such as toast bread. I'll try it.

Conclusion

Now I really like yeast water. Seems it is a good food for my starter. Starter with yeast water is more active than sourdough made of water and flour. I mixed yeast water with whole wheat flour but it can be white flour. So bagels or white bread can be baked white.

Difficult thing is that it takes 5-7 days to make yeast water. So my compromisation will be feeding yeast water time by time. I'll see it works.

That's it about my experiment!


欧米では自宅待機中にパンを焼く人が多いからかイースト不足です。私の住んでいる地域で最近見つけたという話を聞くまでは、イーストはすっかりスーパーから姿を消していました。私は自宅待機を始めてからまだイーストをお店で見たことがありません。。そんなこんなでSteem時代に作ったパン作りのコミュニティー @breadbakers では天然酵母でパンを焼くチャレンジを開催しています。

Natural Yeast Challenge

あと8時間ほどで締め切りですが、ちょっと過ぎてもOK、我こそはという人は参加してください 😉

私は天然酵母というと、小麦粉と水を混ぜて作ったサワードウのスターターを使ってパンを焼くのですが、何か違うことをしてみたくて、@breadcentric さんのウェブサイトで果物で作るイーストウォーターについて読んだこともあり、イーストウォーターでスターターを作ってみることにしました。

・・・・・・が、イーストウォーターによく使われるレーズンやデーツが手元にない。。買い物にも週一回しか行かない。。ということで、台所にあった乾燥イチヂクを使ってみました。ボトルを振ること7日、無事発酵が始まり、スターターを作るに至りました。

今回スターターを使って、サワードウのパンのサワードウ部分を置き換えて、あともうひとつ、いつもはお店で売っているイーストを使って焼くベーグルを天然酵母で焼いてみました。ビギナーズラックかもしれませんがどちらもよくできました。

イーストウォーターで作るスターターは、いつも使う水と小麦粉のスターターよりも元気なようで、時々イーストウォーターを作って水の代わりに与えるといいのかも。これ、実験してみます。

Sort:  

美味しそう!ここまで匂いがします😌

パンそのものも届けたい!で、私は@ramengirlさんの韓国料理をご馳走になりたいですよ :)

会社の同僚の奥さんが、レーズンで自宅で天然酵母をつくってます。
私も挑戦したいなぁ、と思いつつ、なんだか実行せずにきてしまいました。
来週から部分的に在宅勤務となるので、通勤時間がなくなる分、挑戦してみようかなと思います。
それにしても美味しそうな写真ばかり!(^^)

あいさん、その気持ちなんとなくわかります。私も長らくできていなかったので、ようやく!でした :)
挑戦した結果、#breadbakers または https://hive.blog/trending/hive-120505 までどうぞ♪