Challenge: baking with natural yeast

in BreadBakers4 years ago

One week ago, I (@akipponn) post an idea to have a baking contest.

An idea: how about hosting a bread baking contest?

Maybe it's good to just get started 🥖

Natural Yeast Challenge

As it might be difficult for me to pick winners, I make the first one a "challenge". It means all the money in the pot will be distributed equally to participants who are picked randomly like @needleworkmonday does. @akippon donates 30 HIVE, which will be given to 3 participants.

Topic

The topic for the first challenge is "baking with natural yeast" as yeast is missing in some countries.

Yeast and flour makers ramp up supply as Americans turn to baking - Business Insider

One of the common techniques are sourdough, fruit yeast water ... etc. Sourdough starter will be ready in 5 days. We are happy to read about your technique and experience.

Baking with natural yeast may not be easy. Let's help each other to have a great result!

The challenge rules

  • Deadline is 15 April 2020 (23:59 CET).
  • 10HIVE for 3 participants.
  • Post with #breadbakers tag and preferably to the community.
  • Put URL of your post in the comments of this post with a photo.
  • At least one photo. Three photos (or more) of your yeast, baked loaf and cut surface are perfect!
  • Use of small amount of commercial yeast (1-2g for 500g flour) is allowed as some of you may not have enough time to prepare an active starter.

Your suggestions to the challenge such as rules, topics etc are always welcome! Please leave a comment to this post 😊

Sort:  

This seems nice. Hopefully my wife will let me participate, as she will kill me soon if I'll keep on baking constantly..

Here is my entry
It's edible and made with love :)

Thank for your entry, @shanibeer! Love is one of the best ingredients 🍞❤️

Hey, I'm trying to get this right:
My entry

Thank you for your entry @apsu!

Ok.... if sourdough counts I am in 😄. I will right now wander to the cupboard and mix the flour and water. I wil start with your smaller amounts and hope for the best.

... I got to know your result on Instagram, @neumannsalva 😭I wish we can figure out the reason.

Hello @breadbakers, I was slow getting to this 😁
I have started my starters: I should be able to post a loaf of bread before the deadline ... let's see! I have two starters, I'll explain in the post. I've just put them on a warm window sill.

20200411_122419.jpg

Nice hand written notes on tags 😉I'll read your entry today!

Here is my entry :) Thank you to @breadcentric's website, I finally tried yeast water :)
https://hive.blog/breadbakers/@akipponn/baking-with-fig-yeast-water