Trip To Brixton, London

in #brixton6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I took at trip to Brixton in London in the afternoon, I was there to see a gig by the band The The at the famous venue the Brixton Academy. I walked around taking in the culture and sounds.

DSC_0270.JPG

This is the market in Electric Avenue, made famous in a song by Eddy Grant.

Brixton is a centre for the British African Caribbean community stemming from what is known as the Windrush Generation, those who came as immigrants from Jamaica.

DSC_0272.JPG

There are therefore many shops selling exotic food to cater for the diverse local community.

DSC_0268.JPG

I also went to a new pop up village made from shipping containers full of different kinds of shops and food stalls.

DSCPDC_0000_BURST20180606153631544 (1).JPG

There is another shopping centre called Brixton village

DSCPDC_0001_BURST20180606165752881 (1).JPG

I went to a Mexican restaurant here and had Churros, a mexican fried dessert.

DSC_0273 (1).JPG

I could not believe the sheer size of the Brixton Academy venue.

o2brixton.jpg

Brixton_Academy,_Brixton,_SW9_(3380443064).jpg

The gig was fantastic. A band I knew from when I was a teenager, so a trip down memory lane for me.

Sort:  

wow

Thanks for the Post and presenting Brixton in a positive light for once. I have never seen anything good written about Brixton, since we know there are no absolutes then it just means everyone else has been so narrow minded to only focus on negatives. The comments below blame immigration. Now let say the law is made for everyone to return to their Countries (because that is what you really want) where pray tell would the BNP member go? The violence has 2 sides to it.

I will always portray the cultural mix, wouldn't life be awful if we were all the same ? Britain is an island, always been invaded, those who perceive it as their birthright are wrong in my eyes. Very bigoted. We HAVE to live together in harmony despite our differences. But probably too idealist. It can be done !

Well said. The place I identify with most happens to be England, London to be specific. History has happened and we are faced with the consequences. Since we can no go back in time to Not Colonize and raid other Nations the best we can do is live at peace with everyone.

Oh! Guess what I just found on my posts! Father Christmas has started to give his presents very early this year!! But he just came to me last month and said he needed a holiday!
So this must be a Spring Avatar of a very special Guardian Angel being sent to
give blessings to overseas minnow!

Thank you ever so much for cheering me up and surprising me during the low vibes period. At first, I thought there was some kind of mistakes or virus in the system! How could a long column of upvotes appear in front of me! That caused a panic for I didn’t know how to rectify the situation.
This is truly overwhelming and I am deeply grateful to your kindness and generosity.
Please don’t be compelled to be on the giving season so often! I would not be able to return your kindness as much as I wish I could.

Looking forwards to your new posts which will allow me to be able to accumulate some good karma too!!

Yours truly.
Kaminchan

Looks like the Brixton Academy look so massive from the inside.

I've been in Liverpool, England once just last year but we didn't make it to london due to that terrorist attack. Better be safe than sorry.

Nice photography specially the graffiti.
Cheers mate! 😃

Glad the trip went well for you but I'd be careful around London, it wasn't so long ago that people were shot in the very area you visited :S

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-44396511

yes indeed, I was very conscious of this, and was as careful as possible, violent crime has escalated in London in recent years for reasons I don't fully understand.

Unfortunately, there's no dancing around the issue, it's immigration, but people are too scared to admit it for fear of being screeched at by deranged anti-capitalists and left wingers calling them racist.

I would say you are absolutely spot on there. I could feel the undercurrent of tension and aggression. You are not being racist ,just factually correct .

wow, this is awesome, fantastic gig.

@spicetrader pls join us on the steemitdavao trail, and for the gratitude, we will auto upvote your every post for a day.

this post is upvoted and resteem:

All steemitdavao followers will also upvote your beloved post.

enjoy members upvotes.

If you want to join in win-win support.

Pls registered and be part of our steemit journey ^_^.

https://steemauto.com/dash.php?trail=steemitdavao&i=1

@steemitdavao, I am looking at this. I have not used https://steemauto.com previously so I will have to see how it works in practice.

Very nice photos of Brixton and the music hall.
Everything looks so big but clean!
Glad you had a great time!

Congratulations @spicetrader! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!