Sort:  

Thanks for posting about this from your personal perspective. People have villainized Brock, perhaps unfairly, over the years.

I think a lot of people want to hear him address the situation in more depth, however. I believe he wrote a letter in 2014 addressing his past with DEN and the allegations surrounding his involvement in the abuse. Yet, questions still remain as I believe he reached a settlement out of court.

It might be advisable to be more transparent about what really went on if he intends to run for the presidency. The press may have a field day with it considering the level of mud slinging of US politics.

On a side note, I think that his campaign could potentially bring the attention of the masses to cryptocurrency and spread awareness similar to how Yang brought more attention to UBI as a prime focus for his run. It could be a boon to BTC and crypto if properly managed.

Here's an old post about Brock's past written by @fortified who is an excellent researcher. The comments that follow discuss many of things you bring up in this post.

Personally, I think that people shouldn't be shackled for mistakes they made in the past and deserve a chance at redemption. I don't know the full story but, as i commented several years ago, it's likely that Brock was also a victim in all this as well.

I hope he can come clean and clear the air on this persistent cloud that follows him around despite his success in the space.

https://peakd.com/cryptocurrency/@fortified/brock-pierce-or-is-billionaire-bitcoin-board-member-founder-of-tether-and-alleged-pedophile-a-covert-cia-asset

Thanks for commenting. I had forgotten about his letter when writing this, but remember reading it back in the day. Maybe I’ll add it to the post. As for “coming clean” I’m not clear what else is expected of him. He hired lawyers to clarify everything (see the first referenced link). He did an interview explaining his connections (see the embedded video). The settlement out of court only had to do with lawyer fees and not a penny went to the accuser (again, see the first link as this is explained there).

What else should he do? At what point should the rest of us start standing up for him?

Thanks for this post Luke. I knew you had some connection to him and am glad to get your take. A personal experience from someone I have actually met is much more valuable than random articles online.

A personal connection is helpful, sure, but what about facts? What about truth? The evidence on his website (the first link) should clear up the questions people have about this, and yet those questions remain. I worry we're losing our ability to think critically and come to accurate conclusions without being told by someone else what to believe. It's concerning.

I never have actually cared deeply enough about what Brock has done in the past to read random articles about him, only saw a few headlines and comments from trolls here and there. This kept me from ever developing a concrete opinion about him.
I enjoy reading your posts, that’s the only reason I read an article about him this time.

I was not saying that I’d believe everything you say about any topic. You gathered data and shared your experience about something that I wouldn’t have researched on my own. I thought that was cool of you to do.

I will agree that you’re correct about most people blindingly following. I’ve been a total jokester all of my life. These days I see that my capabilities in that area would make it extremely easy to craft an article about anything saying whatever I want (true or false) and a large portion of the population would either believe it or not even read.. sharing the article with the world either way. Lies can spread like wildfire and false narratives can become normal in a flash.

Lies can spread like wildfire and false narratives can become normal in a flash.

Exactly. It's scary stuff.

It's scary to think how much impact even headlines have these days. As people scroll through their feeds, the words they see (even subconsciously!) program their minds like a virus which (for those not fully aware and conscious) directly impacts their thought waves which bleeds into their actions and beliefs.

Thank you for sharing this information. I never knew much about Brock Pierce although I did know who is. It is a shame sometimes how we human beings demonize others without the "whole story".

Man, it was incredible to see people calling EOS "pedocoin" because of this. Never really understood where that was coming from or saw any real evidence.

Thanks for posting this interview. I am so sick of the mob mentality which seems to be growing worse. We need to be careful about judging people with often incomplete facts.

If you liked 1984, you will not wonder why this one has been memory holed.