You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Do You Define a Villain? Do You Think Brock Pierce Is One?

in #brock-pierce4 years ago

A personal connection is helpful, sure, but what about facts? What about truth? The evidence on his website (the first link) should clear up the questions people have about this, and yet those questions remain. I worry we're losing our ability to think critically and come to accurate conclusions without being told by someone else what to believe. It's concerning.

Sort:  

I never have actually cared deeply enough about what Brock has done in the past to read random articles about him, only saw a few headlines and comments from trolls here and there. This kept me from ever developing a concrete opinion about him.
I enjoy reading your posts, that’s the only reason I read an article about him this time.

I was not saying that I’d believe everything you say about any topic. You gathered data and shared your experience about something that I wouldn’t have researched on my own. I thought that was cool of you to do.

I will agree that you’re correct about most people blindingly following. I’ve been a total jokester all of my life. These days I see that my capabilities in that area would make it extremely easy to craft an article about anything saying whatever I want (true or false) and a large portion of the population would either believe it or not even read.. sharing the article with the world either way. Lies can spread like wildfire and false narratives can become normal in a flash.

Lies can spread like wildfire and false narratives can become normal in a flash.

Exactly. It's scary stuff.

It's scary to think how much impact even headlines have these days. As people scroll through their feeds, the words they see (even subconsciously!) program their minds like a virus which (for those not fully aware and conscious) directly impacts their thought waves which bleeds into their actions and beliefs.