You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Mt.Gox Delivering one last top for BTC? 😱

in #btc • 2 years ago

I remember this MTgox "hack" when it happened, I had an account with him/them, but I had no money in it.

Not your keys not your cryptocurrency.

Sort:  

Yeah, this was the first time I learned about keeping funds off exchanges. The downfall happened so fast, luckily I got most of my funds off the exchange before they shut down, because I accidentally clicked withdraw twice one time, and noticed they had a glitch and it sent double the funds to my wallet. At that moment I knew Mt.Gox was not safe anymore. The halted my last transaction, which is this one I've been waiting for all this time, almost half a decade to receive. lol

I sent Karpeles an email warning him about the bug I found, but I guess it was too late for Mt.Gox because other people were figuring out the exploit too, and draining his exchange! I just had a little bit of BTC left on there, however it's worth a lot today, so I'm happy to get it back.

LOL, here is a screenshot of the last email I sent Mt.Gox in January 2014, right before it's demise. I blacked out my name of course, because I don't want anyone to know who I am.

mt-gox.png